![]() |
[Home] [Databases] [World Law] [Multidatabase Search] [Help] [Feedback] [DONATE] | |
England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions |
||
|
You are here: BAILII >> Databases >> England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions >> Clark v Tull (t/a Ardington Electrical Services) [2002] EWCA Civ 510 (1st May, 2002) URL: https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWCA/Civ/2002/510.html Cite as: [2003] QB 36, [2002] EWCA Civ 510, [2002] 3 WLR 762 |
||
[New search]
[Context
]
[View without highlighting]
[Printable RTF version]
[Buy ICLR report: [2003] QB 36]
[Buy ICLR report: [2002] 3 WLR 762]
[Help]
v
Tull (t/a Ardington Electrical Services) [2002] EWCA Civ 510 (1st May, 2002)
B2/2001/2108, B2/2001/2102, B2/2001/1254 |
COURT OF APPEAL (CIVIL DIVISION)
ON APPEAL FROM QUEEN’S BENCH DIVISION
AND OXFORD COUNTY COURT
MR JUSTICE GRAY
HHJ CHARLES HARRIS QC
Strand, London, WC2A 2LL | ||
B e f o r e :
LORD JUSTICE TUCKEY
and
LORD JUSTICE JONATHAN PARKER
____________________
| Between: | ||
| Amanda Clark | Claimant/ Appellant | |
| - and - | ||
| Mr Kenneth Tull t/a Ardington Electrical Services | Defendant/Respondent | |
| And Between : | ||
Julian Dennard | VALIGN=BOTTOM WIDTH=19%>Claimant/Appellant | |
| - and - | ||
Robert Plant | VALIGN=BOTTOM WIDTH=19%>Defendant/Respondent | |
| And Between : | ||
| Arjune Sen | Claimant/ Appellant | |
| - and - | ||
| Steelform Engineering Company Limited | Defendant/Respondent | |
| And Between : | ||
Victor Lagden | Claimant/ Appellant | |
| - and - | ||
| Philippa O’Connor | Defendant/Respondent | |
| And Between : | ||
| Wendy Burdis | Claimant/ Appellant | |
| - and - | ||
| Eric Livsey | Defendant/ Respondent |
____________________
Smith Bernal Reporting Limited, 190 Fleet Street
London EC4A 2AG
Tel No: 020 7421 4040, Fax No: 020 7831 8838
Official Shorthand Writers to the Court)
Dennard,
Sen and Lagden.
Mr C. Symons QC, Mr M. Grant and Mr J. Hough (instructed by Morgan Cole and Hugh James Ford Simey) for Ardington, O’Connor and Steelform.
Mr I. McLaren QC and Mr S. Turner (instructed by Corries) for
Plant.
Mr
I. Milligan QC, Mr B. Williams and Mr P. McGrath (instructed by Betesh Partnership) for Burdis.
Mr J. Stuart-Smith QC and Mr M. Grant (instructed by Royal &Sun Alliance) for Livsey
Mr M. Brindle QC and Mr P. Goodall (instructed by Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer) for Centrus (Intervener) by way of written submissions only.
____________________
VERSION
OF JUDGMENT
AS APPROVED BY THE COURT
Crown Copyright ©
Introduction
victims
of motor accidents with car repair and hire services at little or no cost to them. The commercial success of such schemes has substantially increased the cost of motor claims borne by insurers. This has no doubt motivated their sustained legal attack on the schemes. Their first line of attack was that the car hire agreements were champertous. This failed in Giles
v
Thompson [1994] AC 142. Next, it was contended that the hire agreements were regulated consumer credit agreements which did not meet the statutory requirements laid down by the Consumer Credit Act 1974 so were unenforceable. This succeeded in Dimond
v
Lovell [2000] 2 WLR 1121, although Lord Hoffman described it as “a technical defect which more sophisticated drafting can easily correct”. At both these earlier stages of the contest the House of Lords accepted that the credit hire companies fulfilled a real need and bridged a gap in the market and noted that there were many county court cases awaiting their decisions which they obviously hoped would put an end to further controversy. This was not to be.
view
to appeal. His judgment is now reported at [2002] Lloyds Rep IR 138. A similar exercise the previous year failed when the sample cases he tried (Seddon
v
Tekin and others [2001] GCCR 2865) settled shortly before the appeals were due to be heard by this court. In each of our four cases the credit hire company standing behind the claimants is one or more of the subsidiaries in the Helphire group of companies.
Various
insurers stand behind the defendants. In the fifth case, Burdis
v
Livsey, the credit hire company involved is Accident Assistance. This is an appeal from a decision of Gray J ([2001] 1 WLR 1751) on one of the issues of damages which potentially arises in the other cases as well.
Some facts
v
Steelform Engineering Ltd. We gratefully adopt Judge Harris’s account of the facts in that case which were not in dispute.
“Dr. Sen, avery
precise witness, was involved in an accident on 31st May 1999 when his Ford Fiesta was hit from behind by the defendant’s BMW while he paused at a roundabout near Bicester. He took his car to a garage he knew, Midland Link Motors. Someone there told him about Helphire and how it would provide a hire car and deal with the repairs for him. He said he was told at the garage that if he took out an Angel policy then if the repair hire and engineers fees were not recovered from the other driver Angel would indemnify him for his losses. He confirmed that he would like to do this on the telephone from the garage to Helphire. He did not wish to prejudice his seven year no-claims bonus. He completed an accident report form on 2nd. June 1999 and the following day a Helphire
vehicle
hire agreement, credit hire agreement (51 weeks) and a credit repair agreement were also filled in. He sent Angel a cheque for £10 dated 4th June 1999 by way of premium for the insurance.
He was provided with aVauxhall
Astra which he had for only three days, 3rd to 5th June 1999, whilst he
visited
his mother in Birmingham. The hire charges in his case were £190.35p and an invoice was addressed but not sent to Dr. Sen on 9th June 1999. Also on 9th June Angel wrote to Dr. Sen confirming receipt of his £10 and stating that he was covered by its Cost Cover policy commencing on 3rd June 1999 ... Midland Link Motors prepared but did not send Dr. Sen an invoice for the sum of £326.30p plus
VAT.
These repairs were of the simplest kind, all that was needed was one bumper and some rear lights. There was no engineers claim.
On 3rd April 2000 Helphire wrote to McMurray [solicitors] reminding them that Dr. Sen’s charges would shortly be due under the terms of the agreement and asking them to get him to sign the claim on the Angel policy if he wished to claim. McMurray’s wrote to Dr. Sen on 20th April and Dr. Sen signed this on 17th May 2000. On 11th June 2000 Angel wrote to McMurray “as requested by our mutual client we have now paid all the money that they (sic) owed to the Helphire group..... We act for the underwriter who now has subrogated rights in respect of the sum paid to Helphire please accept this letter as our instructions to act.”
The Agreements
Vehicle
Hire agreement signed by Dr Sen provided that the period of hire was not to exceed 12 weeks. Unless the hirer entered into a credit hire agreement the hire was payable at its commencement or otherwise upon demand. The hire charges were not shown on the agreement when it was signed.
“1. Provided that you are not found to have caused or contributed to the accident, you are entitled to a replacementvehicle,
whilst yours is unroadworthy or being repaired, at the expense of the driver at fault or his insurers (“the Third Party”).
2. Helphire’s credit hire scheme enables you to hire avehicle
from Helphire on credit. The credit is provided whilst Helphire pursues a claim on your behalf against the Third Party. This is done through Helphire’s own legal department or by solicitors nominated by Helphire (“the solicitors”). The solicitors will be instructed by you and will act for you.
3. Subject to Conditions 10 and 14 the Credit period expires when the claim has been concluded either by completing negotiations with the Third Party or by a decision of the Court. At that point you will be liable to pay Helphire’s hire charges, but if it has been established that you were not at fault, the hire charges will be recovered by Helphire, or the solicitors, from the Third Party. ....
9. Helphire’s provision of credit for the HireVehicle
is on the condition that:
(i) Helphire may bring a claim for the hire charges against the Third
Party in your name or nominate the solicitors for you to instruct in bringing the claim in accordance with Condition 2. ....
(iii) You will co-operate fully in the bringing of the claim to include coming to court to give evidence in the unlikely event that this is necessary...
(v)
Any cheques made out in your name which include an amount for hire charges may be paid into Helphire’s bank account even if they include any other money due to you. If this happens Helphire will immediately send the other money to you.
(vi)
If the hire charges are paid to you for any reason then you will pay them to Helphire immediately .....
10. You will pay the whole of the hire charges immediately if demanded by Helphire ... should any of the following occur ....
13. This agreement will not apply to anyVehicle
Hire Agreement
where the HireVehicle
has been hired for a period exceeding 12
weeks.
14. The credit period extended by this Agreement shall expire in any event fifty-one weeks from the date of this Agreement. At the expiry of the credit period you shall then become liable to pay the hire charges in full. If the charges are subsequently recovered from the Third Party, Helphire will refund them to you.”
The other Helphire claimants entered into the same agreement except that for
Dennard
and Lagden the credit period was only twenty-six weeks.
“Following an Insured Incident ... If You use Helphire’s credit hire or credit repair services We will pay Helphire’s Costs and Interest on conclusion of Your claim in respect of them (whether by judgement or settlement) in the event that they cannot be recovered from Another Party that You and Helphire consider to be at fault.
As Helphire’s Costs have to be paid within fifty one weeks in any event We will pay them if Your claim has not been concluded by then, even if the claim is continuing.”
The policy defined “We” as “Angel Assistance acting on behalf of Albion” and “You” as “The person who has paid the premium”. “Helphire” was defined as “Helphire UK Ltd.” and “Helphire’s Costs” as
“Any liabilities incurred by You under Helphire’s credit hire and/or repair schemes including amounts paid out on Your behalf”
The “Period of Insurance” was defined as:
“The period for which We have agreed to cover You and for which You have paid the premium.”
“Insured Incident” was to include
“For a claim for Helphire’s Costs and/or interest an accident that Helphire believes can be proved to be completely the fault of Another Party [which]... must have occurred during ... the period of insurance”
However in the policy schedule sent to Dr Sen and the other claimants the period of insurance was said to start after the date of the accident.
value.
HFL paid the garage 90% of its invoice for repairing Dr Sen’s car on 29th June 1999. This agreement also laid down the procedure by which the garage would operate Helphire’s 5 star repair service culminating, on completion of the repairs, in the garage submitting an invoice to Helphire UK for submission to HFL. Other documents showed that the garage’s invoice was to be made out to the customer but was not to be sent to him or to show the discount. Similar repairer agreements were made with the garages which repaired the other three Helphire claimants’ cars.
Dennard
did not purchase an Angel policy in the way that Dr Sen (and Mr Lagden) did. Their cars were insured through brokers, A Plan, who offered the Helphire scheme to their clients free of charge. The arrangements between A Plan and Helphire were concluded in an exchange of correspondence in which A Plan said they wanted to clarify their understanding:
“... of the Angel product in relation to us. We have purchased a Group policy for the benefit of all our clients to indemnify them for the residual liability they have for any credit hire or repair costs should you be unable to recover in part or whole from the Third Party or their insurers.... perhaps you could confirm”.
to which Helphire replied saying
“.... the block policy afforded to clients of A Plan by Angel will indemnify those clients for any credit hire or repair costs in accordance with the policy wording”
A Plan paid £1 per annum in consideration for this arrangement. Mrs Clark was sent an Albion and Mr
Dennard
an Europ policy schedule but not the policy wording and each signed the subsequent solicitors’ letters saying they wished to claim under these policies before payments were made by Angel to HUK and HFL in the same way as the payments made for Dr Sen. We were told that about 20% of Helphire’s customers come through A Plan.
The 1974 Act
“(1) (a) is not a hire purchase agreement, and
(b) is capable of subsisting for more than three months, and
(c) does not require the hirer to make payments exceeding £25,000.”
“an agreement for fixed sum credit under which the total number of payments to be made by the debtor does not exceed four, and those payments are required to be made within the period not exceeding 12 months beginning with the date of the agreement;”
Helphire’s case is that their credit hire and repair agreements were exempt agreements.
The issues and the way in which the judges resolved them
“.... [this was] not a masquerade or impermissible pretence to camouflage what was in reality a non-exempt agreement but a complex, artificial and sloppily executed and enforced scheme which was nonetheless based upon prime facie exempt agreements and not a mere pretence. The documentation did impose a real requirement to pay, though Helphire did not enforce it, and the insurance arrangement (artificial though it was) provided the claimants with the wherewithal to pay.”
The insurers say that the judge approached the question in the wrong way and reached the wrong conclusion.
views
of the
Vice-Chancellor
in Dimond in the Court of Appeal [2000] 1 QB 216 and Professor Goode. The insurers say he was wrong to do so.
v
Stroud D.C. [1986] 1 WLR 1141, but by the time he tried our cases Gray J. had reached the opposite conclusion in Burdis and Judge Harris felt that he ought to follow that decision although he did not agree with it. Helphire and Accident Assistance for whom Mr Milligan also appears say that Gray J was wrong.
Dennard’s
claims because the judge found that they were not insured. Helphire say the judge was wrong about this.
Dennard
the judge found the repairs had taken too long and so the defendants were only liable for the cost of a repair of reasonable length appropriate to the damage and for consequential hire of similar duration. Helphire say that this approach was wrong.
vehicle
is recoverable and not the higher rates charged by credit hire companies. The first of these is whether this applies to an impecunious claimant who has no alternative but to use Helphire. Mr Lagden was such a claimant. The judge held that he was entitled to recover the full amount. The insurers say he was not.
Dennard
did and the judge found that he could only recover the spot rate for the car he actually hired.
Various
options were canvassed before Judge Harris who in the end accepted the approach of the insurers’ expert, Mr Mainz. He produced a countrywide report giving spot rates for different regions in January 2001. His rates were calculated by averaging rates quoted by a sample of national and local car hire companies. In an attempt to provide guidance for other cases the Judge advocated use of the figures in this report plus 10%. Helphire challenge the judge’s approach and his acceptance of Mr Mainz’s figures.
Pretence – see paragraph 18
v
London and West Riding Investments Ltd. [1967] 2 QB 786, 802 because it obviously did not involve any deceit or improper motive by the claimants. The judge put it this way:
“There was no suggestion in last year’s cases and there is none in the instant ones, that any of the claimants who entered into their credit or insurance agreements had any improper motive whatsoever. They merely and perfectly legitimately wanted their cars mending and a substitute providing without significant expense to themselves. There is no evidence that they had any intention to avoid, legitimately or illegitimately, the application of the consumer credit legislation.”
v
Villiers
[1990] 1 AC 417 the House of Lords refused to give effect to provisions in an agreement designed to evade the Rent Acts which called itself a licence and reserved a right of occupation to the landlord, because they were pretences (mere “dressing up”). The landlord did not genuinely intend to exercise his right of occupation. The insurers also relied on Gisborne
v
Burton [1989] 1 QB 390, to similar effect where the landlord had tried to evade the Agricultural Holdings Act 1948 by granting a tenancy to the farmer’s wife who then sub-let it to her husband. In this type of case the courts have made it clear that they will look at the scheme as a whole if there is more than one transaction and subsequent conduct in order to determine its effect and
validity.
valuable
advice about the court’s approach to such a question in Norglen Ltd.
v
Reeds Rains Prudential Ltd [1999] 2 AC 1, 13 when he said:
“If the question is whether a given transaction is such as to attract a statutory benefit, such as a grant or assistance like legal aid, or a statutory burden, such as income tax, I do not think it promotes clarity of thought to use terms like stratagem or device. The question is simply whether upon its true construction, the statute applies to the transaction. Tax avoidance schemes are perhaps the best example. They either work ... or they do not.... If they do not work, the reason .... is simply that upon the true construction of the statute, the transaction which was designed to avoid the charge to tax actually comes within it. It is not that the statute has a penumbral spirit which strikes down devices or stratagems designed to avoid its terms or exploit its loopholes.”
“I do not regard it as obvious that pubic policy necessarily requires courts to scrutinise the agreements here with the rigour, suspicion or hostility that is being urged by the defendants. They are not concerned at all with the protection of the consumer/claimants, but rather with finding a means of reducing the liability of tortfeasors and their insurers for the consequences of their negligence.”
But this is no more than the approach advocated by Lord Hoffman and the point the judge makes about the insurers is obvious. As Lord Mustill put it in Giles at page 165:
“The solicitude of the defendants and their insurers for the interests of their potential opponents may fairly merit a measured, if not sceptical, regard.”
view
and so we need to look in a little more detail at the insurers’ contentions. Helphire’s case is that the reason their customers do not pay is because the payments by Angel extinguish their liability. The insurers accepted that there would have been nothing objectionable about this if it had been achieved by genuine insurance. Their attack was therefore on the particular insurance arrangements and the way the claims on the policy were paid.
valid
claim under the policy for the cost of hire and repairs if no payment was made by Angel. In effect the risk assumed by underwriters was of the solvency of the Helphire Group. There is nothing wrong or unusual with insurance arrangements which have this effect.
Dennard,
separately represented then, as now, by Mr McLaren QC, to amend their defence to allege that the payments were circular intra-group transactions and of no effect. Helphire say that having refused the application for disclosure the judge should not have allowed this amendment. In the course of his judgment the judge referred to the submissions made on the statutory accounts and commented that it was not obviously clear why the large payments which Angel was making to HUK and HFL were not reflected in their respective accounts.
valid
instruments, were drawn and met. There must have been payments out from Angel’s bank account and into HUK or HFL’s accounts”. He accepted the submission that the source of the money to enable the payments to be made was irrelevant. Just as importantly he accepted that the payments by Angel effectively discharged the claimants debts.
view
there was no pretence. They got exactly what they bargained for: car repair and hire at little or no cost. It might be said that it is only the insurers’ attack on these schemes which has raised the spectre of long term credit because in the ordinary way claims of this kind are settled within weeks of the accident.
Section 15 of the Act – paragraph 19
vehicle
and credit hire agreements restrict the hiring to a period not exceeding twelve weeks, the liability to pay under the credit hire agreement subsists for more than three months so these are consumer hire agreements. Helphire say the twelve week limit only applies to the contract of bailment and not to the obligation to make payments to which the insurers respond by saying that this is not what sub-section (1)(b) says and sub-section (1)(c) shows that the section is concerned with payments.
Vice-Chancellor
obviously thought that an agreement would not be a consumer hire agreement unless the bailment was for more than three months (see paras. 34 and 65 at pages 227 and 232). Goode Consumer Credit Law and Practice at paragraph 456.3 says:
“Section 15(1)(b) is plainly referring to the duration of the agreement as it applies to the bailment of the goods”.
The judge followed these
views.
Exempt agreement – paragraph 20
Four payments
v)
and (
vi)
of the credit hire agreement actually contemplate more than one payment.
v)
and (
vi)
were not to the point.
v)
and (
vi)
make provision for what is to happen if Helphire receives cheques made payable to the hirer or the hirer receives the hire charges directly. These provisions do not affect the obligation to make payment. The same applies to the credit repair agreement. We therefore agree with the judge on this point.
Twelve Months
v)
which requires the hirer to pay the hire charges if Helphire think he will not recover 100% of his claim, he has the right to postpone their demand for payment by asking for a barrister’s opinion for which he “would be liable” and “be required to pay the estimated costs in advance”. No such distinction is drawn in Conditions 3 and 14 where, we think, it is clear that the words “liable to pay” are used in the first sense referred to by the judge.
Recovery even if agreements are unenforceable – paragraph 21
views
on them shortly.
v
First County Trust (No. 2) [2001] 3 WLR 42 in which the
Vice-Chancellor
(at paragraphs 24 – 27) said that an improperly executed regulated agreement still gives rise to contractual obligations. The effect of the Act is simply to prevent the lender enforcing his rights. Thus, the argument goes, there is no reason in principle why the claimants should not recover damages in respect of the costs of discharging their obligations under their agreements with Helphire because they would not act unreasonably in doing so. If double recovery was a bar to this analysis, it could be overcome by the claimants undertaking to pay over to Angel or Helphire (as appropriate) any damages which they recover. To test the position Mr Milligan said that he had instructions to offer such undertakings on behalf of two of the claimants for whom he appeared.
“(1) This section applies to an agreement (a “multiple agreement”) if its terms are such as –
(a) to place a part of it within one category of agreement mentioned in this Act, and another part of it within a different category of agreement so mentioned, or within a category of agreement not so mentioned, or
(b) to place it, or a part of it, within two or more categories of agreement so mentioned.
(2) Where a part of an agreement falls within sub-section (1), that part shall be treated for the purposes of this Act as a separate agreement.
(3) Where an agreement falls within sub-section (1)(b), it shall be treated as an agreement in each of the categories in question, and this Act shall apply to it accordingly.”
Put shortly what Mr Milligan says is that the court is required to analyse the agreements in this case carefully and separate out those parts of them which contain obligations which are regulated by the Act and those which are not. Here the obligations in conditions 9(
v)
and (
vi)
in the Helphire credit hire agreement and the corresponding provisions in their and Accident Assistance’s credit repair agreement are free-standing and enforceable even though the credit provisions are not. So, the argument goes, the risk of double recovery disappears because if the claimants sue and recover from the defendants they will be obliged to pay over what they recover under these free-standing and enforceable provisions.
Lagden – the tariff – paragraph 14
vehicle
and credit hire agreements. The judge, who obviously did not find Mr Lagden’s evidence
very
satisfactory, made no special finding that he had received the tariff.
view
from the recent decision of the Northern Ireland Court of Appeal in O’Hagan
v
Wright NIECA 20 (unreported). It does not matter, he submits, that the information is contained in more than one document.
Repair Costs – paragraph 22
“1. If yourvehicle
is damaged in a collision with another
vehicle
and you are not found to have caused or contributed to the collision, you are entitled to have your
vehicle
repaired at the expense of the driver of the other
vehicle
(or his insurer).
2. However your claim against the third party will take time to conclude and in the meantime you will need to have yourvehicle
repaired.
3. Practically, you will need to arrange and pay for the repair and recover the costs from the third party.
4. The repairing garage will only be prepared to carry out the work if it is guaranteed payment.
5. ACCIDENT ASSISTANCE Repairplan exists to provide you with credit so that the repairs can be paid for prior to the conclusion of your claim against the third party. Payment of the repair costs will remain your responsibility but we will pay them in the first instance. To participate in Repairplan your claim must be handled by us, by our own legal department, or by solicitors nominated by us (“the Solicitors”). The Solicitors will act for you and you will be responsible for their fees and expenses.”
Vehicle
Repair”, which contains the terms of the Agreement. For present purposes we need refer only to conditions 1.2, 1.9 and 4, which are in the following terms (so far as material):
“1.2. Payment of the repair costs and associated expenses (including consulting engineers fees) is your responsibility but we will pay the repairer’s bill in full on your behalf allowing you credit in accordance with this Agreement.
....
1.9. If you receive any monies in respect of the repair costs and/or associated expenses you must pay them to us immediately. ....
4. The period of credit will expire on the day before the anniversary of the date of this Agreement. We can then ask you to repay the repair costs and associated expenses plus interest.”
value.
Miss Burdis included the repair costs in her claim for damages against the defendant, Mr Livsey.
valid
reason of public policy why Miss Burdis should have the double benefit of having her car repaired free of cost to her and of recovering damages in the amount of the repair costs which she would not have to meet.
value
of the car; which in turn was generally measured by reference to the cost of restoring the car to its former condition; that the damage was suffered immediately the accident happened; and that in determining the amount of the damage it was irrelevant whether the owner had to pay for the repairs out of his own pocket or whether the necessary funds had come from elsewhere. In support of that submission, Mr McGregor relied on a number of authorities, including Jones
v
Stroud.
v
Stroud the plaintiffs claimed damages against the local authority for its negligent failure to inspect the foundations of their house, which had started to subside. They included in their claim for damages the cost of repairing the house, but at the trial they produced no evidence that they had paid for the repairs. At first instance the official referee held that the claim was statute-barred, but indicated that had it not been statute-barred he would have given judgment for the plaintiffs for the cost of the repairs. The Court of Appeal allowed the plaintiffs’ appeal on the limitation issue, and went on to hold that the plaintiffs were entitled to recover the cost of the repairs, whether or not they had paid for them. At page 1150F Neill LJ said:
“The second point I have found more difficult. The plaintiffs failed to provide any documents relating to the work carried out by Marlothian Ltd. and there is no evidence that the plaintiffs have paid or are liable to pay any sum to Marlothian in respect of that work. It was submitted on behalf of the plaintiffs, however, that if the repairs were necessary and were carried out it was not to the point that the plaintiffs had not proved that they had paid for the repairs themselves. Our attention was drawn to The Endeavour (1890) 6 Asp.M.C. 511, where repairs to avessel
were carried out but before paying for them the plaintiff had gone bankrupt. It was there argued that the plaintiff could not claim the cost of the repairs because the sums recovered would only go to swell the creditors’ funds. This argument was rejected and it was said, at p. 512:
“If somebody out of kindness were to repair the injury and make no charge for it, the wrongdoer would not be entitled to refuse to pay as part of the damages the cost of the repairs to the owner.”
In my judgment, on the facts of this case this submission is correct.
It is true that as a general principle a plaintiff who seeks to recover damages must prove that he has suffered a loss, but if property belonging to him has been damaged to an extent which is proved and the court is satisfied that the property has been or will be repaired I do not consider that the court is further concerned with the question whether the owner has to pay for the repairs out of his own pocket or whether the funds have come from some other source.”
v
Severs [1994] 2 AC 350 and in Dimond is that the passage in Neill LJ’s judgment in Jones
v
Stroud quoted above can no longer be regarded as good law. In paragraph 48 of his judgment, Gray J said:
“Miss Burdis entered into the credit agreement with [Accident Assistance] within days of the accident. Her purpose was to finance the cost of making good the consequences of Mr Livsey’s negligence without having herself having to put up the money for the repair costs .... before recovering from Mr Livsey’s insurers. For purely adventitious reasons she cannot be treated as constructive trustee of the damages which represent the cost of repairs. In these circumstances I see no reason why she should be entitled to damages, any more than Mr Dimond was entitled in Dimondv
Lovell to recover damages representing the cost of hiring a replacement car.”
v
Severs had not overruled Jones
v
Stroud, either expressly or by necessary implication, since it was dealing with a different type of damage (damages for personal injuries). As to Dimond, Judge Harris commented that the only speech in which the damage to the car itself was considered was that of Lord Hobhouse. Judge Harris concluded that far from indicating that Jones
v
Stroud was bad law, Lord Hobhouse explicitly indicated that the line of authority of which it was an up-to-date example was well established. Judge Harris continued:
“The distinction between this head of damage and that considered in Dimondv
Lovell is that in the case of the unenforceable car hire cost a contract with a third party is of the essence of the damage which is consequential loss or special damage. In Dimond the plaintiff had not suffered a loss because he had his mobility provided for and he is not liable to expend money as special damage. Thus there is nothing to claim, like the injured plaintiff who receives medical treatment on the National Health Service and does not have to pay for private treatment. On the other hand, the car repair figure is merely a method of
valuing
the loss which the plaintiff has undoubtedly suffered, namely the diminution in
value
in his car. It has nothing to do with liability to a third party.
It is, of course, possible that on some future occasion when it turns its mind to it the House of Lords, or, indeed, the Court of Appeal, may decide that Jonesv
Stroud District Council needs reconsideration, but it has not done so yet.
Accordingly, in myview
it remains for the moment appropriate to follow Jones
v
Stroud District Council.”
“In Seddon –v-
Tekin and in Taylor-
v-Cooke
[1999] I found that a century of authority from The Endeavour [1896] 62 LT 840,
via
Derbyshire-
v-Warren
[1963] 1 WLR 1069 CA and culminating in James [sic] -
v-Stroud
[1986] 1 WLR 1141 showed that the measure of damages in cases of damage to property was the diminution in
value
of the chattel, which was normally measured by, but which was not the same thing as, the cost of repair. Thus the recoverability of the repair charges was irrelevant. The contrary argument was that James-
v-Stroud
was “impliedly overruled” by Hunt-
v-Severs
[1994] 2 AC 350 and Dimond-
v-Lovell,
though it was not mentioned in any of the judgments in those cases which were not dealing with diminution in
valuation
claims.
However in Burdis-v-Livsey
21st May 2001 Leeds Crown Court Gray J rejected submissions made by Harvey McGregor QC and held that James-
v-Stroud
[sic] could no longer be regarded as good law. All three leading Counsel in the instant case felt that Burdis-
v-Livsey
was authority binding upon me (there is a different
view
articulated informally to DCJ’s by a senior member of the Court of Appeal that it would be persuasive only). In the circumstances, though I retain the
view
of the law I have expressed, I think that Burdis probably is binding upon this Court and so though I do not agree with it I shall follow it. I understand that it is subject to appeal which might be usefully be listed with the appeals in this case if that is possible.”
value
of the car resulting from the accident (i.e. an immediate and direct loss which is suffered when the accident occurs), hire charges are of an entirely different character, in that they represent a consequential and prospective loss which is suffered if and when the charges are incurred. He submits, relying on British Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Co Ltd
v
Underground Electric Railways Co of London Ltd [1912] AC 673 at 688-692 and other authorities, that where (as in Burdis) the claimant has suffered an immediate and direct loss, the proper question for the court is not whether that loss has been subsequently avoided in circumstances which fall within one of the exceptions to the rule against double recovery, but rather whether it has been reduced or extinguished by a transaction which is collateral to the tort – in other words, which is (to use the traditional expression) res inter alios acta. This, he submits, is a principle which is clearly established by the authorities, of which Jones
v
Stroud is merely a recent example. He submits that Gray J was wrong to hold that Jones
v
Stroud has been overruled, pointing out that it has been referred to in a number of later authorities (including one, Alfred McAlpine Construction Ltd
v
Panatown Ltd [2000] 3 WLR 946, which was decided after the House of Lords’ decision in Dimond) without any criticism or suggestion that it is no longer good law.
v
Severs as authority for the proposition that unless the unenforceability of the agreement is brought into account Miss Burdis will be over-compensated in damages. He submits that since damages in the law of tort are purely compensatory, the crucial question is whether the
victim
of the tort has suffered a loss. If he has not, then there is nothing for which he need be compensated. This applies, he submits, whether the reason for the absence of any loss is that no circumstances arose which could give rise to a loss, or that despite the fact that circumstances arose which might have given rise to a loss, they did not do so, for whatever reason.
v
Cleaver [1970] AC 1 and Hussain
v
New Taplow Paper Mills Ltd [1988] AC 514. These latter cases establish that, in assessing damages for personal injuries, benefits derived from insurance taken out by the claimant or (in certain circumstances) from the benevolence of a third party are to be left out of account, as being exceptions to the rule against double recovery. Mr Stuart-Smith submits that there is a direct analogy between damages for personal injury and the repair costs claimed in Burdis, and that since neither of the two recognised exceptions to the double recovery rule applies in Burdis, there is no basis for allowing recovery of costs which the claimant has not, in the event, had to bear. He also seeks to equate repair costs with hire charges, submitting that in both cases if the claimant does not in fact suffer a loss (for whatever reason) there is no loss to be compensated, and that in Burdis the claimant did not in fact suffer a loss since she was not required to pay for the repairs. He submits that Gray J was right to conclude that the unenforceability of the agreement with Accident Assistance should be brought into account in assessing Miss Burdis’ loss.
v
Stroud, Mr Stuart-Smith submits that Gray J’s analysis was correct and that the passage from Neill LJ’s judgment quoted earlier is no longer to be regarded as good law. In support of this submission Mr Stuart-Smith undertook a detailed examination of the subsequent authorities in which reference is made to Jones
v
Stroud in an attempt to demonstrate that, notwithstanding that Jones
v
Stroud has never expressly been overruled, the subsequent authorities do not support Neill LJ’s
view.
vehicle
is damaged by the negligence of a third party, the owner suffers an immediate loss representing the diminution in
value
of the
vehicle.
As a general rule, the measure of that damage is the cost of carrying out the repairs necessary to restore the
vehicle
to its pre-accident condition (see Dimond at page 1139G per Lord Hobhouse).
value.
Nor was there any issue as to the reasonableness of the garage’s charges. Thus at the moment when the accident occurred Miss Burdis suffered a direct and immediate loss, the measure of which was the cost of the repairs which were in fact carried out (£2,981.19). But it was not a condition precedent to the recovery of compensation for that loss that the car be repaired: Miss Burdis’ cause of action for the recovery of damages representing the diminution in the
value
of her car caused by Mr Livsey’s negligence was complete when the accident occurred (see: The Glenfinlas [1918] P 363 and The London Corporation [1935] P 70 CA). Similarly, a claimant’s damages will not be affected by the fact that, in the event, the repairs are carried out at no cost to him (see The Endeavour (1890) 6 Asp MC 511, where the
vessel
was repaired but, due to the bankruptcy of the owner, the repairer was never paid).
v
Severs at page 357H) - but the process of determining, in the light of subsequent events, what loss the claimant has actually suffered differs according to whether the loss was suffered when the tort was committed (direct loss) or whether it was suffered subsequently (consequential loss).
“[W]hat is alleged to constitute mitigation in law can only have that effect if there is a causative link between the wrong in respect of which damages are claimed and the action or inaction of the plaintiff.”
Viscount
Haldane LC’s speech in British Westinghouse, describing it as a “classic statement of the principle of mitigation”.
v
Weeks [1891] 2 QB 31 CA and Haviland
v
Long [1952] 2 QB 80 CA).
v
Severs Lord Bridge, at page 361F, gave the example of an injured claimant who requires hospital treatment. Lord Bridge said:
“If an injured plaintiff is treated in hospital as a private patient he is entitled to recover the cost of that treatment. But if he receives free treatment under the National Health Service, his need has been met without cost to him and he cannot claim the cost of the treatment from the tortfeasor.”
v
Cleaver and Hussain. In the latter case Lord Bridge said (at page 527G):
“But to the prima facie rule there are two well established exceptions. First, where a plaintiff recovers under an insurance policy for which he has paid the premiums, the insurance moneys are not deductible from damages payable by the tortfeasor: Bradburnv
Great Western Railway Co (1864) LR 10 Ex 1. Secondly, when the plaintiff receives money from the benevolence of third parties prompted by sympathy for his misfortune, as in the case of a beneficiary from a disaster fund, the amount received is again to be disregarded: Redpath
v
Belfast and County Down Railway [1967] NI 147. In both these cases there is in one sense double recovery. If the award of damages adequately compensates the plaintiff, as it should, the additional amounts received from the insurer or from third party benevolence may be regarded as a net gain to the plaintiff resulting from his injury. But in both cases the common sense of the exceptions stares one in the face. It may be summed up in the rhetorical question: ‘Why should the tortfeasor derive any benefit, in the one case, from the premiums which the plaintiff has paid to insure himself against some contingency, however caused, in the other case, from the money provided by the third party with the sole intention of benefiting the injured plaintiff?’”
v
Severs, and the exceptions to that general rule to which we have just referred, are of no materiality for present purposes.
v
Stroud represents a modern restatement of a principle established by the earlier authorities.
v
Stroud is, in this respect, no longer good law, having been impliedly overruled by Hunt
v
Severs and Dimond.
v
Severs is concerned, we do not consider that that decision impacts at all on the principle established by British Westinghouse and the other authorities to which we have referred. As Judge Harris pointed out in Seddon, Hunt
v
Severs is concerned with a different type of damage. In concluding that the decision in Hunt
v
Severs is inconsistent with Neill LJ’s judgment in Jones
v
Stroud, Gray J seems to us to have overlooked the important distinction between direct loss and consequential loss.
“Mrs Dimond was at the time of the accident the owner and person in possession of thevehicle.
It was damaged. Its
value
was reduced. This can be expressed as a capital account loss. This loss can be measured as being the cost of making good the damage plus the
value
of the loss of its use for a week. Since her car was not unrepairable and was not commercially not worth repairing, she was entitled to have her car repaired at the cost of the wrongdoer. Thus the measure of loss is the expenditure required to put it back into the same state as it was in before the accident. This loss is suffered as soon as the car is damaged. If it were destroyed by fire the next day by the negligence of another, the second tortfeasor would only have to pay damages equal to the reduced
value
of the car and the original tortfeasor would still have to pay damages corresponding to the cost of putting right the damage which he caused to the car. These questions are liable to arise in relation to any damaged chattel and have long ago received authoritative answers in cases concerning ships: The Glenfinlas (Note) [1918] P.363; The Kingsway [1918] P.344; The London Corporation [1935] P.70. These cases also distinguish between the cost of the damage to the chattel and consequential losses to the owner of the chattel such as loss of revenue. However even where the chattel is non profit earning (as was Mrs Dimond’s car) there may still be scope for awarding general damages for loss of use: The Mediana [1900] AC 113; Admiralty Commissioners
v
S.S. Chekiang [1926] AC 637; Admiralty Commissioners
v
S.S. Susquehanna [1926] AC 655.
I mention these cases and the principles they illustrate to demonstrate that persons such as Mrs Dimond do not have to survive in an environment where the law does not recognise the losses which they may have suffered and that the law is not without principles covering the provision of compensation and its assessment. Each case depends upon its own facts but loss of use of the chattel in question is, in principle, a loss for which compensation should be paid. However one of the relevant principles is that compensation is not paid for an avoided loss. So, if the plaintiff has been able to avoid suffering a particular head of loss by a process which is not too remote (as is insurance), the plaintiff will not be entitled to recover in respect of that avoided loss. If the loss has only been avoided by incurring a substituted expense, it is that substituted expense which becomes the measure of that head of loss. Under the doctrine of mitigation, it may be the duty of the injured party to take reasonable steps to avoid his loss by incurring that expense.”
v
Stroud. On the contrary, we agree with Judge Harris when he said in Seddon that in the passage from his speech quoted above Lord Hobhouse “explicitly indicated that the line of authority of which [Jones
v
Stroud] is an up-to-date example is well established”.
v
Stroud (
viz.
Linden Gardens Trust Ltd
v
Lenesta Sludge Disposals Ltd [1994] 1 AC 85, Darlington Borough Council
v
Wiltshier Northern Ltd [1995] 1 WLR 68 and Panatown) impliedly disapproved of Jones
v
Stroud. In our judgment those authorities contain nothing to suggest that Jones
v
Stroud is no longer good law.
v
Stroud remains good law, and that the principle which it restated has not been in any way eroded by subsequent authority.
Clark and
Dennard
– no insurance – paragraph 23
Dennard’s
liability to HUK by making payments as it did in the other cases, he held that no subrogated rights had been acquired to their claims because they were not insured. These two claims therefore fell foul of the rule against double recovery. The judge’s conclusion was based principally upon his
view
that neither claimant had provided consideration for the Angel policy, although in Mrs Clark’s case he had doubts as to whether she intended to create legal relations and also relied on the policy wording.
Dennard
were clients of A Plan. We have set out the arrangement between A Plan and Helphire in paragraph 12. What was the nature of this arrangement? Mr Milligan’s primary submission is that Angel gave authority to A Plan to issue policies (Albion or Europ) to their customers if they opted for the Helphire scheme. We think this analysis is largely correct, although looking at the exchange of correspondence and what actually happened we think the authority conferred on A Plan by Angel simply permitted A Plan to agree on Angel’s behalf that Angel would issue policies to A Plan’s eligible clients. As the arrangement with A Plan only involved giving them this authority, no question of consideration arises, although as between A Plan and Angel, quite apart from the one pound, the scheme was obviously to their mutual advantage so each would have provided consideration to the other.
v
Detel Products Ltd. [1951] 2 KB 854).
various
alternative ways in which Mr Milligan put this part of Helphire’s case. They mean also that we allow the appeal in
Dennard.
In Clark however there is the further point about intention to create legal relations. Although she signed the Helphire agreements and received the policy schedule Mrs Clark was unaware of what she had signed, believing that the hire car had been provided as a courtesy car by her motor insurers. She made the claim on the policy by signing the letter from the solicitors “so as to have nothing further to worry about”. We think these facts demonstrate that Mrs Clark did sign up to the scheme. The fact that she did not understand that this is what she had done because she did not read the documents she signed is not to the point. Looking at the matter objectively we think there can be no doubt that there was a mutual intention to create legal relations in Mrs Clark’s case. It follows that we allow the appeal in her case as well.
Payments to the garage – paragraph 24
value
does not mean that the claim should also be limited to 90%. For these reasons we conclude that the claimants are entitled to recover 100% of the proper costs of the repairs to their cars.
Delay in repair – see paragraph 25
Dennard’s
car. He was told that it would take 5 days and despite chivvying the garage on the telephone, it was not ready for collection for 12 days. In both cases the hire period was extended through no fault of the claimant.
Dennard’s
case the car hire should be 5/12 of the actual car hire cost. The insurers supported the conclusion and the reasoning of the judge.
Dennard’s
car had caused him loss amounting to 12 days hire charges. He was entitled to recover that loss unless the chain of causation had been broken by some supervening act or he had failed to mitigate his loss. On the findings of the judge the delay did not arise from a supervening act and both Mrs Clark and Mr
Dennard
had acted reasonably. It followed that they were entitled to recover in full. In support they referred us to Mattocks
v
Mann [1973] RTR 13. In that case Mrs Mattocks took her car to reputable repairers. It was estimated that it would take 6 weeks to repair, but the repairs took 12 weeks to complete. Thereafter the repairers held the car pending payment which was not made by the defendants until nearly 7 months after the repairs had been started. Thus the Court of Appeal had to decide whether Mrs Mattocks could recover the cost of hiring the car that she needed during the full time taken to repair the car and during the time when the repaired car was held pending payment.
“For a supervening cause or a failure to mitigate to relieve a defendant of a period of hire there must, in my judgment, be a finding of some conduct on her [Mrs Mattocks] part or on the part of someone for whom she is in law responsible, or indeed of a third party, which can truly be said to be an independent cause of loss of her car for that period.”
v
Mitsui O.S.K. Lines Ltd [1986] 1 AC 1. In that case the Privy Council considered whether the plaintiff could recover in respect of an extended period of repair caused by industrial action at the repairers. Their Lordships held that the plaintiff could recover because the industrial action was foreseeable.
Dennard.
They should pay the loss caused by their actions. The actual loss incurred involved hire of replacement cars for 10 days in the case of Mrs Clark and 12 days in the case of Mr
Dennard.
They both appear to have acted reasonably in placing the cars in the hands of respectable repairers and there were no supervening events. Further delays of that order were foreseeable. The extra loss caused by the delay in the repair must fall on the tortfeasor as there was no failure to mitigate. On the findings of fact in those cases the cost of hire should not have been reduced. The insurers of the defendants should seek a contribution from the repairers for any unjustified length of repair.
Impecuniosity – see paragraph 26
very
little money and therefore could not afford to hire a car and it is reasonable to assume that he could not have obtained a loan to enable him to pay hire charges. He therefore could not obtain a replacement car without using Helphire or a similar company. Can he recover the cost of the Helphire Scheme, including as it did certain sums which would not normally be recoverable?
value
of the loss of its use …” (see Lord Hobhouse in Dimond at page 1139 F-G). That being so, the effect of impecuniosity had to be considered as part of the law of mitigation. A claimant who is under a duty to mitigate is not obliged to do that which he cannot afford to do (see Dodd Properties Ltd
v
Canterbury City Council [1980] 1 WLR 433 at 435). Mr Lagden had no choice but to purchase the additional benefits of the Helphire Scheme. As in Alcoa Minerals of Jamica Ltd
v
Broderick [2000] 3 WLR 23, Mr Lagden suffered one head of damage. His impecuniosity did not give rise to a head of damage and was something which was reasonably foreseeable. Thus his measure of loss included a sum for loss of use of his car. He was under a duty to mitigate his loss, but did not have to do that which he could not afford to do (see Dodd Properties at 453 D). He could afford to use the services of Helphire and their costs were recoverable provided Mr Lagden acted with commercial prudence.
victim
as he finds him. The loss is measured as the cost of repair plus the
value
of the loss of its use to the
victim.
Of course, additional benefits obtained as a result of taking reasonable steps to mitigate loss need to be brought into account in the calculation of damages (see Lord Hobhouse in Dimond at page 1135 F). But nobody suggests that there were any steps that were reasonable which would have mitigated Mr Lagden’s loss which did not involve paying the full cost of the scheme. It was not suggested he could have obtained a loan or that there was any cheaper way of obtaining a replacement car. It seems that the Helphire charge was, to him, the cheapest way to remedy the loss. He was therefore entitled to recover the full cost of the scheme.
Different Car – see paragraph 27
Dennard
drove a sports car. He was supplied with a 1.8
Vauxhall
Vectra
as a replacement car. Its cost of hire was substantially less than that which he would have been charged if he had insisted on the supply of a sports car.
Dennard
would have been entitled to a replacement sports car, but, since he accepted a
Vectra,
he was only entitled to the appropriate cost of the type of car which he decided to accept.
Dennard
was entitled to a replacement sports car. They also submitted that the cost of hiring such a sports car represented Mr
Dennard’s
loss. The fact that he accepted a less prestigious car was irrelevant. It was not open to the defendants to question the way that Mr
Dennard
spent his damages. The insurers submitted that Mr
Dennard
was not entitled to a replacement sports car. His loss was equivalent to the cost of a suitable car.
vehicle,
but that is subject to the duty to mitigate. Mitigation requires reasonable steps to be taken. Whether that has been done is a question of fact which depends on the circumstances.
Dennard
was the cost he had to pay for hire of the
Vectra,
not the amount which he might have paid for the hire of another car. A person who has no need for a replacement car because, for instance, he is abroad during the repair cannot recover the cost of hiring a replacement which he never incurs (see Giles
v
Thompson at 167D). Similarly, a person who does not incur the cost of hiring a sports car cannot recover more than the cost actually incurred. Mr
Dennard
expressed his satisfaction with the
Vectra
and upon the facts it would not have been reasonable for him to insist upon a replacement sports car. However if a need for a particular replacement car is established, then the cost incurred of hiring that car is recoverable.
Calculation of the rate of hire – see paragraph 28
virtue
of her contract with 1st Automotive which was the accident hire company involved. He held that such additional benefits had to be brought into account and therefore had to be stripped out. He said at page 1136 D that “prima facie their
value
is represented by the difference between what she [Mrs Dimond] was willing to pay 1st Automotive and what she would have been willing to pay an ordinary car hire company for the use of a car”. That he referred to as the “spot rate”.
vary
considerably. For example Mr Mainz, the expert called by the insurers, found that the daily rate applicable to the period when Dr Sen required a hire car
varied
from about £25 to £40. Thus there was no spot rate as such.
varied
from £25 to £40. The average of those with excess of less than £100 was £35.05.
validity.
In any case it was potentially out of date in 2001.
Delivery and Collection Charges – see paragraph 29
“… in the light of the Dimond decision I do not think that delivery charges can be generally recoverable in ordinary cases … However, for some people it may be reasonably necessary to have a delivery if, for example, thevictim
was handicapped or had no practical or cheaper way of getting to the car himself. A long taxi ride might cost more than a delivery charge, in which case the latter should be recoverable.”
v
Thompson at 167 D); neither is the need for delivery self-proving. If the injured person lives next door to the car hire company, he can walk round and collect the replacement car and a delivery and collection charge is not part of the loss. However, the cost of obtaining the replacement car can be recovered subject to the duty to take reasonable steps to mitigate the loss. What is reasonable is a question of fact, which can usually be deduced from the surrounding circumstances. If there is suitable public transport, it would be reasonable to expect the car to be collected. If part of the loss is the cost of delivery and collection, that must be proved.
Engineers’ Charges – see paragraph 29
VAT.
The charges for the engineer were invoiced at £70.50 inclusive of
VAT.
Mrs Clark suffered minor damage to a nearside panel. Repairs of £560 were authorised by Helphire’s engineer. He charged £35 plus
VAT,
but her claim was based upon a second invoice of £60 plus
VAT.
view that the engineer’s report will lead to a quick and satisfactory settlement of the claim and protect Helphire. As such they would not be recoverable. The judge was right.
Interest – paragraph 30
“It seems to me that in reality from the time Helphire’s arrangements paid out to the repairers, Helphire has been standing out of its money”.
So he awarded interest from the time HFL paid the garages but only on the actual amount (90%) which it paid. The position was slightly less clear as far as car hire was concerned but he said:
“Despite the artificiality of what was being done nonetheless these payments were being made by Angel”.
So he awarded interest on the payments made by Angel from the time they made those payments to HUK.
Tributes and apologies