![]() |
[Home] [Databases] [World Law] [Multidatabase Search] [Help] [Feedback] [DONATE] | |
England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions |
||
|
You are here: BAILII >> Databases >> England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions >> Coles & Ors v Hetherton & Ors [2013] EWCA Civ 1704 (20 December 2013) URL: https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWCA/Civ/2013/1704.html Cite as: [2015] 1 WLR 160, [2014] 2 All ER (Comm) 223, [2013] WLR(D) 508, [2015] BUS LR 40, [2014] 3 All ER 377, [2013] EWCA Civ 1704, [2015] WLR 160, [2014] Lloyd's Rep IR 367, [2015] Bus LR 40, [2015] RTR 7 |
||
[New search]
[Context
]
[View without highlighting]
[Printable RTF version]
[Buy ICLR report: [2015] 1 WLR 160]
[View ICLR summary: [2013] WLR(D) 508]
[Buy ICLR report: [2015] Bus LR 40]
[Help]
ON APPEAL FROM THE QUEEN'S BENCH DIVISION
COMMERCIAL COURT
MR JUSTICE COOKE
Strand, London, WC2A 2LL |
||
B e f o r e :
LORD JUSTICE AIKENS
and
LORD JUSTICE
VOS
____________________
Coles & Others |
Appellants |
|
| - and - |
||
Hetherton & Others |
Respondents |
____________________
WordWave International Limited
A Merrill Communications Company
165 Fleet Street, London EC4A 2DY
Tel No: 020 7404 1400, Fax No: 020 7831 8838
Official Shorthand Writers to the Court)
Christopher Butcher QC & Jonathan Hough (instructed by Herbert Smith Freehills LLP) for the Respondents
Hearing dates: 16-17/10/2013
____________________
VERSION
OF JUDGMENT
Crown Copyright ©
Lord Justice Aikens :
This is the judgment of the court.
I. Synopsis
vehicle
was damaged as a result of the admitted negligence of the defendant driver, who was insured by either Provident or Allianz. In each case the claimant's motor policy contained an option whereby the insured could have his
vehicle
reinstated if the cost of repairs were judged to be less than the
vehicle's
market
value.
If that option was chosen then the insured had a further choice under the policy terms; he could elect to engage his own repairer or elect to use RSAI's system for repairing
vehicles.
If the policyholder chose the latter, the policy also gave him the option of using a "courtesy car" if he wanted one. In all 13 cases the claimant policyholder chose the RSAI repair system option and his
vehicle
was repaired. In some of the cases the claimant also decided to take advantage of the courtesy car offer. In each case RSAI, exercising its rights of subrogation as insurer, has brought a claim (in the name of the insured) against the negligent driver, claiming the total cost of the repairs paid out by it, which included some ancillary charges and the cost of the courtesy car.
vehicle
(as invoiced to RSAI) when it has been repaired using the RSAI repair system, which has been set up through another company in the RSAI group. Provident and Allianz argue that the RSAI repair system is operated has the effect of inflating by about 25% the total cost of claims for repairs made against the defendant tortfeasor (in reality, his insurer) and that the claimant is not entitled, as a matter of law, to claim that full sum, but only about 75% of it. There is a subsidiary question concerning the right to recover the cost of the courtesy car. We were told that there are a number of claims in the County Courts where similar issues have arisen and that the decisions of County Court judges have not all been to the like effect. That is one reason why permission was granted to appeal the judgments and orders of Cooke J of 15 June and 4 October 2012 .
(1) Measure of Loss: Where avehicle
is damaged as a result of negligence and is reasonably repaired (rather than written off), is the measure of the claimant's loss taken as the reasonable cost of repair?
(2) Test of "reasonable repair charge": If a claimant's insurer has arranged repair, is the reasonableness of the repair charge to be judged by reference to: (a) what a person in the position of the claimant could obtain on the open market; or (b) what his or her insurer could obtain on the open market?
(3) Recoverable amount: Where avehicle
is not a write-off and an insurer indemnifies the insured by having repairs performed and paying charges for those repairs, and where the amount claimed is no more than the reasonable cost of repair (on the correct legal test determined under (2) above), is that amount recoverable?
vehicle
were sought respectively as direct and consequential "general damages" (as opposed to "special damages") resulting from the collision between the two
vehicles,
so that the pleaded cases of the claimants should be read in that way. On that basis, Cooke J made orders striking out parts of the pleaded case of the Provident and Allianz policy holder defendants which raised points contrary to his conclusions on the preliminary issues. He also struck out those parts of the defendants' pleadings which objected to payment of (a) an uplifted hourly rate as charged to RSAI; (b) the sundry service charges; and (c) the cost of providing a courtesy
vehicle,
together with other aspects of the defendants' pleadings with which this court is not concerned.
vehicle;
and (d) those parts of the pleadings that were to be struck out as a consequence of the conclusions on the three preliminary issues. RSAI, through Mr Butcher QC, opposes all of those challenges.
II. The RSAI Repair Scheme and how it works in practice.
vehicle
repaired through the RSAI repair scheme under the policy terms, it will either be repaired by one of the QRCs or MRNM will sub-contract the repair to another, independent garage. This garage will be part of MRNM's "Priority Repair Network" (PRN repairers). If neither a QRC or a PRN repairer is used, an independent garage, known as a "non-recommended garage", or NRG, will be engaged. NRGs are outside the RSAI scheme. They are usually used when the policyholder elects to have repairs done outside the scheme. (3) There is a Services Agreement ("SA") between RSAI and MRNM which stipulates in clause 3.1 that MRNM, through the QRC or the PRN repairers, is required to provide the services set out in Schedule 1 of the SA.[3] Clause 7 provides that MRNM's contract charges to RSAI must be those set out in Schedule 3 (which are updated from time to time). Clause 7.4 requires MRNM to raise invoices on RSAI in an agreed manner and MRNM has to provide such information as RSAI reasonably requires to substantiate any charges that it makes on RSAI. Clause 28 stipulates that there will be no relationship of agency between MRNM and RSAI. (4) Schedule 3 of the SA provides for the labour and other charges to be made on RSAI by MRNM according to a set formula, which allows MRNM, when billing RSAI, to make a profit on what it has had to pay its PRN repairers. [4] (5) Schedule 3 of the SA sets out three hourly rates regimes for labour charges. (6) In cases where MRNM's net invoice total (to RSAI) exceeds £300 and more than 4 hours labour has been used on the repairs to a
vehicle,
Schedule 3 provides for an additional flat rate charge (of three times the appropriate hourly rate charged) which is to be made for "Sundry Services" provided, which MRNM and RSAI agree would cover a number of different services. RSAI asserts (but the defendants do not accept) that in all cases at least some of those services were provided. (7) Courtesy cars were charged at £11 a day and delivery/collection of the damaged/repaired
vehicles
or courtesy cars were charged at £110. (8) The amounts charged to RSAI by MRNM were designed not to exceed the amount which would be payable by an individual who went out into the market to get the same repairs done to his
vehicle.
RSAI/MRNM is able to negotiate substantial discounts with its PRN repairers and parts suppliers because of its bargaining power and the
volume
of work it can supply to them.
various
different methods used by motor insurance companies which will have the effect of creating savings for a motor insurer who has to indemnify his assured for damage to his
vehicle
and which may also generate income for an insurer who makes a claim against a tortfeasor in respect of the cost of those repairs. Such schemes involve eg referral fees, using claims management companies and discounts arranged with parts companies. The objection of Provident and Allianz to the RSAI scheme is founded on two particular facts: (1) MRNM charges RSAI higher rates than those charged to MRNM by the subcontracting repairer and those higher charges are the ones claimed against the tortfeasor; and (2) MRNM charges RSAI a flat rate for collection and delivery of the damaged car, for courtesy cars and for "Sundry Charges", even if the subcontracting garage charges nothing for one or all of those services.
III. The judgment of Cooke J dated 15 June 2012: judgment (1).
value
of that asset which results from the physical damage caused by the negligence. The "normal" or "ordinary" or "prima facie" way of measuring that diminution in
value
in the case of an asset that can be repaired, (whether or not it is in fact repaired), is the reasonable cost of repairing it. There may be a further claim for loss of use of the asset, which will be characterised as a claim for consequential loss.[7] The judge referred to a number of
very
well-known cases, most of which concern the measure of damages recoverable by a shipowner whose
vessel
has been damaged as a result of a collision resulting from the negligence of the other ship (or perhaps both ships). The principles are, however, of general application. The judge also considered two more recent cases[8] concerning damages for consequential loss when a replacement
vehicle
is provided, on hire, following a motor collision.
v
Warran.[9] That case concerned the measure of damages recoverable by a claimant who owned a well-maintained second hand car, which was damaged as a result of the defendant's negligence and which the claimant repaired but at a cost exceeding its market
value.
Cooke J concluded that the reasoning and decision in that case "flew in the face" of other, binding, authorities and so had to be regarded as an "aberration".[10] The appellants say that the judge's conclusion on that case was wrong.
"…where avehicle
is negligently damaged and is reasonably repaired, rather than written off, the measure of the claimant's loss can be taken as the reasonable cost of repair. That reasonable cost is not necessarily the repair cost actually incurred, whether by the claimant or its insurer or indeed by anyone else who pays a repairer since the reasonable cost of repair is only a way of ascertaining the diminution in the
value
of the chattel by reason of the physical damage, though it is the normal and conventional way….A court can assess "the reasonable cost of repair" by reference to any evidence which is sufficient to discharge the burden of proof upon the claimant to establish the amount in question….In each case it will be a matter for the court to determine whether the claimant has made out its case, whether or not repairs have been done and whether or not in invoice is produced for the repair costs".
value
of the damaged car, is to be assessed by reference to the position of the individual claimant, without reference to his insurers or to any benefits which the individual obtains under his insurance policy, for which he has paid a premium. The judge emphasised that he had not formed any judgment on any disputed issue of fact as to what the objectively ascertained reasonable cost of repairs for an individual claimant might be. That would have to be established "by any form of admissible evidence in a court": see [61].
value
of the
vehicle,
a court could be justified in taking an overall figure for the reasonable cost of repairs, even if individual items were not, in themselves, reasonable. It was the overall figure that counted.[11] (2) The way that RSAI had pleaded its claims was for "damages arising out of a road accident", in which "
vehicle
repairs" and "incidental expenses" were particularised. There was not a claim for a diminution in the
value
of the
vehicles
concerned, framed by reference to the commercial cost of repairs as charged by MRNM to RSAI. Instead the claim was put as one for financial losses, represented by
vehicle
repairs, as identified in the BIC form served with the claim. The judge commented that this did not sit happily with the thrust of the claimants' argument that the claim was for "general damages" based on the diminution in
value
of the
vehicle,
because the claim, as pleaded, gave the impression that all that was being claimed as damages were the actual cost of repair paid to the repairer and sundry charges, delivery charges and courtesy car charges where applicable, ie. it was a claim only for "special damages".[12]
value
of the
vehicle
(albeit measured in terms of the reasonable costs of repair) and a claim for "special damages" that have been itemised in a claim form and which would have to be specifically proved to be recoverable, surfaced again at the hearing before Cooke J on 4 October 2012. In his judgment of 4 October 2012, Cooke J stated that the "correct jurisprudential basis" for the present claims by the RSAI claimants was one for "general damages" for diminution in
value
of the
vehicle
"as reflected by the reasonable commercial cost of repairs to the insured in order to restore the condition of the car to its status quo ante".[13] The judge held that the way that the claims had been formulated by the RSAI claimants was for "special damages" as a cost of repair actually incurred by the RSAI policyholder. On that basis any claim which included a sum referred to in the supporting BIC which had not actually been incurred would be irrecoverable.[14] Mr Butcher emphasised that the claims were intended to be put upon the "general damages" basis. The issue arose again before us.
value
of the
vehicle
measured by the cost of repairs, that the defendants could not argue that the claimants were unable to recover the "uplifted labour rate". The paragraphs dealing with those points were struck out. Similarly, he held that he should strike out the defendants' objections to the items claimed as "sundry service charges", because the issue was whether the repair costs as a whole were reasonable and so could be taken to represent the diminution in
value
of the
vehicle
concerned. The judge permitted the points on delivery and collection charges to remain on the pleadings because they raised questions of fact, whichever way the RSAI claimants' case was put.
IV. The arguments of the parties on the appeal
v
Warran.[17] The consequences of Cooke J's judgment would be that (1) the amount of compensation would depend on how the claim was pleaded, whether as "general damages" or "special damages". (2) A claimant could thus profit at the expense of a tortfeasor and recover more than actually spent on repairs. (3) A claimant could just rely on expert evidence to prove the "reasonable cost of repairs" and could avoid having to disclose actual invoices. This would make the resolution of small claims such as the present more cumbersome and expensive and less easy to settle.
v
Lawn.[18] Further, the action in choosing the more expensive MRNM repairer meant either that the repair costs were unreasonable or that the claimant had failed to mitigate his loss.
value
caused by the tort is measured by reference to the reasonable cost of repairs which, in practice is "likely to be the lowest reasonably obtainable cost of repairs".[19] That was a question of fact and these cases should be remitted to the Mercantile Court to ascertain whether the sums claimed satisfied that test or not. It was important to recognise that the damage occurred at the moment of the tort and so the diminution in
value
was taken at that point. Accordingly, there was no question of mitigation of damage, as that was impossible. Insofar as Darbishire
v
Warran used the language of mitigation it reflected the argument of the parties. The court had not been referred to the long line of Admiralty cases which dealt with this issue. The statements of the court were inconsistent with Lord Hobhouse's analysis in Dimond
v
Lovell and that of Aldous LJ in Burdis
v
Livsey.
viz.
the reasonable cost of repair to the individual claimant
vehicle
owner on the open market. On basic principles, the position of the insurer is irrelevant. It would be unprincipled for a claimant who has comprehensive cover and who could use the RSAI repair scheme to be able to recover less than a claimant with only third party cover whose
vehicle
had suffered the same physical damage. Agency is also irrelevant as that is concerned only with the means by which the insurer fulfils its obligations under the policy if the insured elects to use the RSAI scheme. The insured authorises the insurer to choose the repairer but the insured is never a party to the repair contract.
V.
Preliminary issue one: discussion and conclusion.
vehicle
is damaged as a result of negligence and is reasonably repaired (rather than written off) is the measure of the claimant's loss taken as the reasonable cost of repair?" There can be no doubt about the legal analysis of the general rules. It was summarised by Lord Hobhouse in his speech in Dimond
v
Lovell at page 406B and the relevant passage was quoted by the judge at [22] of his judgment.[20] Dimond
v
Lovell was concerned with the recoverability of the cost of hiring a replacement car on credit hire terms after a claimant's car had been damaged in a collision caused by the negligence of the defendant. But Lord Hobhouse began his analysis with basic principles. Taking Lord Hobhouse's statement together with statements in other cases: (1) where a chattel is damaged by the negligence of another that loss (the "direct" loss) is suffered as soon as the chattel is damaged. (2) The proper measure of that loss is the diminution in
value
that the chattel has suffered as a result of the negligence of the defendant. This follows the general principle in awarding damages, ie. that of restitution.[21] In Lord Hobhouse's phrase, "this can be expressed as a capital account loss". (3) If the chattel can be economically repaired, the claimant is entitled to have it repaired at the cost of the wrongdoer, although the claimant is not obliged to repair the chattel to recover the direct loss suffered. (4) Events occurring after the infliction of the damage are irrelevant to calculating the diminution in
value
measure of damages.[22] Thus, subsequent destruction of the chattel,[23] or a decision to delay repairs,[24] or an ability to have the repairs done at less than cost[25] or for nothing[26] will not prevent the claimant from recovering the diminution in
value
of the chattel that has been caused by the negligence of the tortfeasor. (5) Generally, the practical way that the courts have calculated this diminution in
value
is to ask how much would be the reasonable cost of repair so as to put the chattel back in the state it was in before it was damaged. In general this is a convenient practice which we think the courts should continue to follow. Only if the sum claimed appears to be clearly excessive will the court be justified in investigating whether that sum exceeds the cost that the claimant would have incurred in having the repairs carried out by a reputable repairer.
value,
even if it is measured by the reasonable cost of repairs, is that it is a claim for general damages, not one for "special damages". The diminution in
value
claim should therefore be pleaded as a claim for general damages. Documents such as an invoice for the cost of the repairs undertaken are no more than evidence of the diminution in
value
suffered by the chattel as a result of the negligence of the wrongdoer which can be used to make good the claim. Strictly speaking, the cost of the repairs is not itself the loss suffered. In addition to the direct loss represented by diminution in
value,
there may be other, consequential losses, such as deprivation or "loss of use" of the
vehicle,
but that constitutes a different head of claim.[27] Once again a claim for simple deprivation, or loss of use, is a claim for general damages. However, if the chattel concerned is one that is normally used in the hope of making a profit, (such as a trading ship, a lorry or a taxi), then a claim for the profits lost because the chattel could not be used for that trading would constitute "special damages". Those damages have to be specifically pleaded and proved.[28]
value
of the chattel.[29]
v
Warran does not assist Mr Curtis' argument. That was a case where the claimant chose to repair his car that had been damaged in a collision at a cost which exceeded its market
value.
He did so because he
valued
and trusted his car. There was also some evidence that it might have been difficult to find another second-hand car of the same type on the market. The argument in the Court of Appeal was whether the claimant was entitled to recover all the cost of the repairs, £192, as he claimed, when the undamaged
value
of the car was only £85. The straightforward answer is that he could not do so, because, upon proper analysis, the claim should have been one for general damages for the diminution in
value
to the car.[30] The problem arose because the claim was made for the total repair cost, which led the court into consideration of "mitigation of loss". However, Harman LJ gave the correct answer at page 1073 when he stated that this car was not an "irreplaceable article" and, as the cost of repairs greatly exceeded its
value
(before damage), "the car should be treated as a constructive total loss and the measure of damage is its
value",
by which I think he must have meant the diminution in
value
of the car.
view
these statements suggesting that the principle of mitigation of loss was relevant to the question of what damages could be recovered for the physical damage to the car were, with respect, misplaced. They lose sight of the fact that the cost of repairs is only evidence of the amount of the loss recoverable,
viz.
the amount of the diminution in
value
of the chattel. As Cooke J pointed out at [35] of his judgment (1), the court in Darbishire
v
Warran was apparently not referred to the long line of Admiralty cases which established the law, such as The Endeavour, The Glenfinlas, The Kingsway, and The London Corporation. The principles established in those cases have since been authoritatively reaffirmed by Lord Hobhouse in the House of Lords in Dimond
v
Lovell and by this court in both Jones
v
Stroud District Council[32] and Burdis
v
Livsey.[33] Thus we agree with the statement of Cooke J[34] that the remarks on mitigation in Darbishire
v
Warran must be seen as an "aberration". But the actual decision in that case, based on Harman LJ's analysis, was correct.
value
of the chattel. What is the diminution in
value
of a chattel or the "reasonable cost of repair" will always be a question of fact for the trial judge to determine if it is in dispute.
value
of the
vehicle.
With that important qualification, our answer to preliminary issue one is: "Yes", because the "reasonable cost of repair" is, as a rule of thumb, taken as representing the diminution in
value
of the chattel that has been suffered as a result of the damage caused by the negligence of the defendant. However, it may not always represent the full amount of the diminution in
value,
as this court made clear in Payton
v
Brooks.[35]
VI.
Preliminary Issue Two: discussion and conclusion
vehicles
concerned in accordance with the RSAI scheme set out in the policy terms. The question could not arise if the cases were dealing with damage to a chattel that was not insured. For example, doubtless many bicycles used every day in London are not insured, even if some cost thousands of pounds. So the first issue is whether, as a matter of principle, there should be a difference between the case of a chattel that is not insured, or which is insured but whose insurer is not contractually bound to arrange the repair of it if the insured asks him to do so, and a chattel that is insured and whose insurer has arranged the repair in fulfilling his policy obligation under the contract terms.
view
the clear answer to this question is "no" there should not be and there is not a difference. The law has long been settled. There are two basic principles. First, even in a case where a claimant is insured in respect of the loss suffered as a result of the tortfeasor's wrong and the insurer has indemnified the insured and becomes subrogated to the insured's rights against the tortfeasor, the cause of action against the tortfeasor remains that of the claimant, unless it is specifically assigned to the insurer. See, for example, Esso Petroleum Co Ltd
v
Hall Russell & Co Ltd. [36]
v
Jenson (No 2),[37] "…ever since Bradburn
v
Great Western Railway[38] defendants have had to accept that a claimant's insurance arrangements are irrelevant and cannot be prayed in aid to reduce their liabilities". In the present case the RSAI claimants have a form of motor policy which gives them the option to use the RSAI scheme to have the insured
vehicle
repaired by and at the expense of the insurer. In that way RSAI, the insurer, fulfils its contractual duty to indemnify the insured for loss suffered as a result of an insured peril,
viz.
damage to the insured
vehicle
resulting from the negligence of another driver. Lord Reid explained in the leading case of Parry
v
Cleaver[39] that the reason why benefits provided by way of indemnity by the insurer are to be disregarded when assessing the liability of the tortfeasor is that the insured has bought the benefits by paying the premium demanded. So, in Lord Reid's words: "…it would be unjust and unreasonable to hold that the money which [the insured] prudently spent on premiums and the benefit from it should inure to the benefit of the tortfeasor".
v
Lawn.[40] This decision is said to demonstrate that in certain circumstances the court can take into account the position of the insurer. In that case the question before this court was whether two claimants (who were, of course, insured), whose cars had been damaged by the negligence of another, were entitled to recover the cost of hiring a replacement
vehicle
when they were offered a "free" replacement car by the insurer of the tortfeasor. It was said that they had failed to mitigate their loss and had acted unreasonably in not accepting that offer.
v
Lawn go no further than that. They do not undermine the general principles that: (i) a claim is that of the claimant, not the insurer who has become subrogated to the claim; (ii) the present claim is one for direct loss, where mitigation is irrelevant; and (iii) the fact that the claimant has been indemnified by the insurer cannot be prayed in aid to reduce the liability of the tortfeasor.
value
of the
vehicle
that has been damaged as a result of the negligence of the tortfeasor.
VII.
Third Preliminary Issue: discussion and conclusion.
vehicle
is not a write-off and an insurer indemnifies the insured by having repairs performed and paying charges for those repairs, and where the amount claimed is no more than the reasonable cost of repair (on the correct legal test determined under (2) above) is that amount recoverable?". The argument on this question concentrated on the issue of the recoverability of "administrative costs", costs of "sundry services" and the costs of a courtesy car, but there is a point of principle that must be dealt with first.
vehicle
is a claim in general damages and the measure of damages recoverable is the monetary amount of the diminution in
value
of the
vehicle
caused by the negligence of the defendant. That diminution in
value
figure is usually calculated, as a rule of thumb, by the reasonable cost of repairs (to the claimant) in a case where the
vehicle
is capable of economic repair. If, as is assumed by the form of the question in the third preliminary issue, it is the insurer that has arranged and paid for the repairs to the claimant's
vehicle
and the claimant then sues for the cost incurred by the insurer as the sum representing the diminution in
value
of the
vehicle
resulting from the negligence of the defendant, the court has only one question to consider. It is whether the actual sum claimed is equal to or less than the notional sum this claimant would have paid, by way of a reasonable cost of repair, if he had gone into the open market to have those repairs done. The court will examine the components of the notional overall figure which is said to represent what the claimant (not the insurer) would have had to pay if he had organised the repairs, to ensure that that sum represents the "reasonable cost" of repairs that the claimant would have had to pay. It will then compare that figure (stripped, if necessary, of any "unreasonable" elements) with the total sum representing the actual cost to the insurer, which will be the sum claimed by the claimant.
vehicle
on a credit hire basis all establish that a claimant can claim that cost of replacement as damages,[44] provided he has reasonably mitigated his loss and that the cost contains no element that is not legally recoverable, such as the cost of hiring on credit.[45] If, under the terms of the claimant's insurance, he is entitled to be indemnified by having a replacement car provided without further charge to him, then the claimant can still claim general damages for the deprivation of his own
vehicle.
In practice, the amount of those general damages will be the sum it would have cost the claimant to hire (on non-credit terms) a comparable
vehicle.
HREF='#note46'>[46] Where the replacement car has been provided as part of the indemnity under the motor insurance of the claimant, the general damages he recovers in respect of the deprivation of his own
vehicle
will be held for the benefit of his insurer.[47]
vehicle
by supplying a replacement, at no charge to the insured. As we understand Mr Curtis' argument, he submitted that the claimant could not recover any sum[48] because the car was provided as a benefit under the policy rather than as an indemnity in respect of the claimant's loss of use of his damaged
vehicle.
Two consequences are said to follow: first, this benefit does not constitute the "fruits of the insurance" and so the benefit has to be taken into account when assessing the measure of damages, ie it falls outside the Bradburn
v
Great Western Railway and Parry
v
Cleaver rule. Therefore, secondly, by taking this benefit, the claimants have, as they were obliged to do, mitigated their loss, so that the "loss of use" damages are thereby reduced to nil.
vehicle
cannot be used after an accident because it has to be repaired is set out in the policy; the right is only dependant upon the insured opting to use the RSAI scheme. It is, as Mr Curtis accepted before the judge, a contractual benefit under the policy which RSAI is bound to supply if the insured exercises the RSAI scheme option.[49] That makes this benefit a "fruit of the policy" and within the Parry
v
Cleaver rule. We agree with Cooke J's summary, at [36] of judgment (2): "the insurers provide a benefit to the policyholder who has obtained the use of a substitute car and provided it is at a reasonable rate and was reasonably incurred to cover the cost of the use of the damaged car, it is recoverable".
vehicle
at no charge if he elected to use the RSAI scheme, there is no question of "mitigation" by the exercise of that option. Mitigation concerns actions taken to reduce loss after the tort (or breach of contract) has occurred. Here the claimant is exercising rights for which he had contracted (and paid for) before the tort occurred. Exercising that contractual right is not "mitigating" the loss of use of the damaged
vehicle.
VIII.
Disposal
Note 1 [2012] EWHC 1599 (Comm) – hereafter “judgment (1)”. [Back] Note 2 [2012] EWHC 2848 (Comm) – hereafter “judgment (2)”. [Back] Note 3 This sets out a series of service standards which PRN repairers must meet. These include a delivery/collection service and, if the customer wants it, a courtesy car. [Back] Note 4 The QRCs and PRN repairers invoice one division of MRNM and another division charges the commercial cost (ie including a profit) to RSAI. [Back] Note 5 RSAI relies on evidence in the form of the recommended retail price for repairs set out in the Retail Charges Guide that is published by the Auto Body Professionals Club. See [11] of Cooke J’s judgment (1). [Back] Note 6 At [15] to [26]. [Back] Note 7 See [15] and [16]. [Back] Note 8 Dimond Note 9 [1963] 1 WLR 1067. [Back] Note 10 See [35] and [40]. [Back] Note 12 See [64] and [65]. [Back] Note 13 See [4] to [7] of judgment (2). [Back] Note 14 See [11] of judgment (2) [Back] Note 15 See [28]-[38] of judgment (2). [Back] Note 16 Mr Curtis relied on the general statement of Lord Blackburn in Livingstone Note 17 [1963] 1 WLR 1067, particularly at 1070 (Harman LJ); 1076 and 1077 (Pearson LJ) and 1078 (Pennycuik J). [Back] Note 18 [2009] 1 Lloyd’s Rep IR 496 at [12]-[16] per Longmore LJ. [Back] Note 19 Transcript: Day 1 page 122 lines 4-18. [Back] Note 20 Aikens LJ pointed out in Pattni Note 21 Livingstone Note 22 Burdis Note 23 As in The Glenfinlas (Note) [1918] P 3663; The London Corporation [1935] P 70 [Back] Note 24 The Kingsway [1918] P 344 [Back] Note 25 Jones Note 26 The Endeavour (1890) 6 Asp MC 511; Burdis Note 27 In The Mediana [1900] AC 113 at 117, Lord Halsbury LC deprecated the use of the phrase “the use of” the chattel and preferred simply to say that the tort had “deprived” the owner of the chattel, commenting: “What right has a wrongdoer to consider what use you are going to make of your [chattel]” and he gave the famous example of the chair removed from a room. [Back] Note 28 The Mediana [1900] AC 113 at 117-118 per Lord Halsbury LC with whom the other Law Lords agreed, although adding supplementary comments. [Back] Note 29 The statement at para 28-124 of the 3rd supplement to Clerk & Lindsell on Torts (20th Ed) commenting on Cooke J’s judgment (1) to the effect that “where the claimant has carried out the repairs at a lower cost, the claimant has thereby mitigated some of his loss which should therefore be non-recoverable” makes the mistake of identifying the cost of repairs as being the claimant’s loss: it is clear from the authorities referred to in Lord Hobhouse’s speech in Dimond Note 30 Harman LJ noted that the claimant had not proved that there was any “special use” for the car: page 1072. [Back] Note 31 Pages 1071 and 1076 of the report. [Back] Note 32 [1986] 1 WLR 1141 especially at 1150 H per Neill LJ with whom Ralph Gibson and Fox LJJ agreed. [Back] Note 33 [2003] QB 36 [84]-[85] per Aldous LJ giving the judgment of the court. [Back] Note 34 [40] of judgment (1). [Back] Note 35 [1974] 1 Lloyd’s Rep 241 at 244 per Edmund Davies LJ; 244 per Buckley LJ; 245 per Roskill LJ. [Back] Note 36 [1989] AC 643 at 663G per Lord Goff of Chieveley; 677A per Lord Jauncey of Tullichettle. The other Law Lords agreed. [Back] Note 37 [2008] Lloyd’s Rep IR 221 at [9]. Tuckey LJ and Sir Paul Kennedy agreed. [Back] Note 38 (1874) LR 10 Exch 1. [Back] Note 39 [1970] AC 1 at page 14. [Back] Note 40 [2009] EWCA Civ 580; [2009] Lloyd’s Rep IR 496. [Back] Note 41 See [16] and [17]. Waller and Jacob LJJ agreed with Longmore LJ. [Back] Note 43 The Mediana [1900] AC 113 at 117 per Lord Halsbury LC. [Back] Note 44 If a claimant has hired the Note 45 Burdis Note 46 Compare Lord Halsbury’s example in The Mediana at page 117. [Back] Note 47 Bee Note 48 It will be recalled that the sum claimed is £11 per day, which is
v
Lovell [2002] 1 AC 384; Burdis
v
Livsey [2003] QB 36. [Back]
v
Rawyards Coal Co (1880) 4 App Case 25 at 39; the statement of Lord Hobhouse in Dimond
v
Lovell [2002] 1 AC 384 at 406 and that of Aldous LJ in Burdis
v
Livsey [2003] QB 36 at [85]. [Back]
v
First Leicester Buses Ltd at para 30(1)fn 19 that the statements of Lord Hobhouse at this point of his speech were obiter and the other Law Lords did not expressly agree with him on them. But the general principles had long been authoritatively stated in a series of ship collision cases in the House of Lords in the early part of the twentieth century and cannot be in doubt. [Back]
v
Rawyards Coal Co (1880) 4 App Cas 25 at 39 per Lord Blackburn. [Back]
v
Livsey [2003] QB 36 at [95] [Back]
v
Stroud DC [1986] 1 WLR 1141 [Back]
v
Livsey [2003] QB 36, where no sum was payable because the repairs were carried out under an unenforceable credit agreement. [Back]
v
Lovell (and others) that it the cost is not the loss. [Back]
vehicle
and the specific hire cost is claimed, this must be as “special damages” which would have to be pleaded and proved: Bee
v
Jenson (No 2) [2008] Lloyd’s IR 221 at [20]- [21] per Longmore LJ with whom Tuckey LJ and Sir Paul Kennedy agreed. [Back]
v
Livsey [2003] QB 36 at [147]; Pattni
v
First Leicester Buses Ltd [2012] PIQR Q1at [30]. If the claimant owner is a corporate body, then the general damages recoverable may not be calculated on the basis of the cost of hiring a replacement, but on the basis of the capital and interest involved: Beechwood Birmingham Ltd
v
Hoyer Group UK Ltd [2011] QB 357. [Back]
v
Jenson (No 2) [2008] Lloyd’s IR 221 at [22]- [24]. [Back]
very modest. [Back]