![]() |
[Home] [Databases] [World Law] [Multidatabase Search] [Help] [Feedback] [DONATE] | |
England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions |
||
|
You are here: BAILII >> Databases >> England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions >> Chief Constable of Norfolk v Coffey [2019] EWCA Civ 1061 (21 June 2019) URL: https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWCA/Civ/2019/1061.html Cite as: [2020] 2 All ER 490, [2019] EWCA Civ 1061, [2020] ICR 145, [2019] IRLR 805, [2019] WLR(D) 342 |
||
[New search]
[Context
]
[View without highlighting]
[Printable PDF version]
[Buy ICLR report: [2020] ICR 145]
[View ICLR summary: [2019] WLR(D) 342]
[Help]
ON APPEAL FROM THE EMPLOYMENT APPEAL TRIBUNAL
HH Judge David Richardson
Strand, London, WC2A 2LL |
||
B e f o r e :
(
Vice-President
of the Court of Appeal (Civil Division))
LORD JUSTICE DAVIS
and
LORD JUSTICE BEAN
____________________
THE CHIEF CONSTABLE OF NORFOLK | Appellant |
|
| - and - |
||
LISA COFFEY | Respondent |
____________________
Norfolk
Constabulary Legal Services) for the Appellant
Mr Jack Feeny (instructed by Pattinson & Brewer Solicitors) for the Respondent
Hearing date: 20th February 2019
____________________
VERSION
OF JUDGMENT
Crown Copyright ©
Lord Justice Underhill :
INTRODUCTION
Norfolk
Constabulary, but it was refused because on a medical test her hearing fell, as the medical adviser put it, "just outside the standards for recruitment strictly speaking".
Chief
Constable
of the
Norfolk
Constabulary, the Appellant, claiming that she had been discriminated against because of a (perceived) disability. Her claim was upheld by an Employment Tribunal sitting at Bury St Edmunds (Employment Judge Postle and members). She was subsequently awarded compensation in the sum of £26,616.05 and the Tribunal made two recommendations under section 124 (2) (c) of the Act.
2017
HH Judge David Richardson dismissed his appeal.
THE BACKGROUND LAW
various
"protected characteristics" and proceeds to define
various
forms of discrimination by reference to those characteristics. The following Parts provide that discrimination is unlawful in the particular circumstances there defined: discrimination in relation to work is covered by Part 5.
"A person (P) has a disability if –
(a) P has a physical or mental impairment, and
(b) the impairment has a substantial and long-term adverse effect on P's ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities."
I shall have to return later to the meaning of "normal day-to-day activities".
"(1) This paragraph applies to a person (P) if –
(a) P has a progressive condition,
(b) as a result of that condition P has an impairment which has (or had) an effect on P's ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities, but
(c) the effect is not (or was not) a substantial adverse effect.
(2) P is to be taken to have an impairment which has a substantial adverse effect if the condition is likely to result in P having such an impairment.
(3) …"
v
University of Surrey [2001] UKEAT 462/00, [2002] IRLR 235, the EAT (HHJ Reid QC presiding) held that in the equivalent provision of the Disability Discrimination Act 1995 "likely" meant "more likely than not". However, in para. 55 of his judgment in the present case Judge Richardson said that, "as elsewhere in the Schedule", it meant "could well happen". He plainly had in mind the decision of the House of Lords in SCA Packaging
v
Boyle [2009] UKHL 37, [2009] ICR 1056, which gave that interpretation to the same language in paragraph 6 of Schedule 1. In his oral submissions Mr Strelitz accepted that that was right and that Mowat-Brown is in this respect no longer good law. I agree.
"A person (A) discriminates against another (B) if, because of a protected characteristic, A treats B less favourably than A treats or would treat others."
There is a good deal of law about the effect of the phrase "because of" in the context of direct discrimination (and its equivalent in the prior discrimination legislation, "on the grounds of"). I need not summarise it here save to note that the authorities confirm that it covers cases where the protected characteristic is a significant, even if only subconscious, part of the "mental processes", or "motivation", of the putative discriminator in deciding to do the acts complained of.
"(1) On a comparison of cases for the purposes of section 13, ... there must be no material difference between the circumstances relating to each case.
(2) The circumstances relating to a case include a person's abilities if—
(a) on a comparison for the purposes of section 13, the protected characteristic is disability;
(b) ... ."
"If an employer rejects a job application form from a white man whom he wrongly thinks is black, because the applicant has an African-sounding name, this would constitute direct race discrimination based on the employer's mistaken perception."
I should say, because it appears that a case of perception discrimination under the 2010 Act has not previously been before this Court, that I am satisfied that the consensus on this issue below was correct. As a matter of ordinary language the phrase "because of [a protected characteristic]" is wide enough to cover the case where A acts on the basis that B has that characteristic, whether they do or not[1]; and the Explanatory Notes confirm that that was Parliament's intention.
"(1) A person (A) discriminates against a disabled person (B) if –
(a) A treats B unfavourably because of something arising in consequence of B's disability, and
(b) A cannot show that the treatment is a proportionate means of achieving a legitimate aim.
(2) Subsection (1) does not apply if A shows that A did not know, and could not reasonably have been expected to know, that B had the disability."
No-one has come up with an apt label for this kind of discrimination, cognate with "direct" and "indirect" discrimination, and I will have to content myself with "section 15 discrimination". I return later to the relationship between sections 13 and 15.
v
Malcolm [2008] UKHL 43, [2008] AC 1399, and at least partly for that reason section 15 of the 2010 Act is differently framed; but the overall objective of the two provisions is the same.
constable
is to be regarded as employment: see section 42.
THE FACTS
verbatim
Judge Richardson's summary of the background facts.
Norfolk
Constabulary from 1993 until 1997 as a police
constable.
She did not suffer from hearing loss or tinnitus at that time. She then took a career break for family reasons. In 2009 she joined the Wiltshire Constabulary as a staff member. In 2011 she applied to the Wiltshire Constabulary to become a police
constable.
She underwent a medical. It was discovered that she suffers from bilateral mild sensori-neural hearing loss with tinnitus.
constable.
constable
on front-line duty with no adverse effects from 2011 onwards; indeed she continued to do so at the time of the Employment Tribunal hearing.
Norfolk
area. On 26 September 2013 she made an application to the
Norfolk
Constabulary for a transfer. She disclosed that she had some upper range hearing loss and enclosed the report from the functionality test. She said that no adjustments had been necessary because of this hearing loss.
"This means that I recommend that the Constabulary undertake an assessment of her effectiveness to work in an operational environment with respect to hearing the radio and hearing the environment and being able to operate safely."
Norfolk
Constabulary. Instead further clarification was sought from another medical adviser. In an email dated 24 December this adviser explained the standards and said that the 2011 and 2013 audiograms were
very
similar – just outside the range. So it could be concluded that there had been no deterioration in the Claimant's hearing since 2011 and she would pass a practical test. The Claimant herself saw an ENT specialist who confirmed that her hearing levels were stable and sent a copy of his report to the
Norfolk
Constabulary.
Norfolk
Constabulary did not accept the recommendation. After internal correspondence and discussion the matter was placed before Acting
Chief
Inspector Hooper for decision. She declined the Claimant's application because her hearing was below the medical standard. In an internal memorandum she wrote:
"The applicant's hearing is below the standard for recruitment. Whilst I acknowledge that she performs the role of frontline officer in Wiltshire the assessment of her hearing at the time she joined them was 'borderline'. The transfer of 'risk' assessment & management of her ability to perform the role of frontline officer would becomeNorfolk
Constabulary's responsibility & would require me to set aside medical opinion that the hearing is below the recruitment standards.
Regrettably the applicant's hearing is below the acceptable & recognised standard & we should decline the application to transfer."
"15. With regard to the suggestion that I declined the Claimant's application because I believed her to be disabled, this is certainly not the case. I have a basic understanding of the Equality Act and the definition of 'disabled' and it is my understanding that there would need to be a substantial adverse impact on an individual's ability to carry out normal day to day activities. On the basis of my reading of the papers, I had no reason to believe that the Claimant was disabled. On the contrary, the Claimant was an operational front line officer in Wiltshire and I was advised of no other restrictions meaning that she was able to operate to the high physical and mental requirements that are placed upon such front line officers. There is simply no way that I considered that her marginal failure of such tests would have such an impact on her daily life that it would mean she was disabled.
16. I also did not believe she was disabled as this had been mentioned by neither of the occupational health/medical experts in this case who had been specifically asked to examine her. Having looked through the notes now this is perhaps unsurprising since Dr Roberts noted that in respect of her 'deafness' ... that it 'Does not cause any problems' for the Claimant.
...
18. The Force, as for all other Forces across the country, is being required to deliver public services with fewer officers than in previous years and this situation will worsen over the coming years. In practical terms this means that every Force will have fewer officers to deliver the same or more frontline services. As a consequence, when making decisions on recruitment I had to be mindful thatNorfolk
and Suffolk constabulary already retain officers who have become permanently restricted during their tenure and who by
virtue
of their restrictions are not operationally deployable. This inevitably places pressure on those officers who are deployable. To knowingly risk increasing the pool of restricted officers if the Claimant, or any other applicant did not meet the nationally published criteria, could further reduce the pool of officers who are operationally deployable and increase that pressure which in my
view,
in light of the financial constraints the Force is required to meet cannot be consistent with service delivery.
19. I am and was aware at the relevant time that the Medical Standards do not prevent me from recruiting restricted officers per se, of course if someone was disabled then we would specifically have to look at how that might be managed. However, having regard to the fact that the Force will increasingly require officers to be omnicompetent and fully deployable, regrettably, the recruitment of a non-disabled permanently restricted officer could only be considered were the officer to have a specific skill that the Force could utilise.
20. The Claimant was a patrol officer recently out of probation and seeking a frontline role. I did not feel that the Claimant was offering any specific or key skills to enhance the ability of the Force to perform its public services and balance out the fact that she would not be available for full operational deployment. For this reason, I did not consider it appropriate to step outside the Medical Standards and recruit a non-disabled officer who would byvirtue
of the Medical Standards be a restricted officer."
We were told that "restricted officer" has no precisely defined meaning but simply connotes an officer who is not able to perform the full range of frontline duties.
THE ET's REASONS
v
DLA Piper UK LLP [2010] UKEAT 0263/09, [2010] ICR 1052, in which "the concept of direct disability by perception" is said to have been "acknowledged"[2]. The Tribunal then says:
"28. The crux of the matter is clearly did the Respondent, particularly ActingChief
Inspector Hooper, perceive the Claimant to be disabled by reason of her bilateral mild sensorineural hearing loss with tinnitus, and was the rejection of the Claimant's application to transfer to the Respondent less favourable treatment because of the perceived disability ?
29. Did ActingChief
Inspector Hooper perceive the Claimant as having the characteristics that make up the definition of disability ?"
I have to agree with Judge Richardson that the Tribunal's reasoning would have benefited from a rather fuller analysis of the relevant provisions, which could then have been applied in its dispositive reasoning. In this difficult field it is always a
valuable
discipline to go through the elements necessary to liability one-by-one.
Norfolk
might be different from those in Wiltshire; but at para. 35 the Tribunal unsurprisingly rejected that. It referred at para. 36 to the reference in her memo (see para. 23 above) to "the transfer of 'risk' assessment and management of her ability to perform the role of front-line officer". It continued:
"37. To the Tribunal's mind the above comment can only in [sic] interpreted as ActingChief
Inspector Hooper perceiving felt [sic] that the Claimant had a potential disability, and or actual disability which could lead to the Respondent having to make adjustments to the Claimant's role as a front-line police officer. There is, to the Tribunal's mind, no other way of looking at it than for the Tribunal to conclude in the absence of any other explanation that the Respondent treated the Claimant less favourably because of her perceived disability. Additionally, given Acting
Chief
Inspector Hooper's
view
that the Claimant had a potential disability or a perceived disability[3], the adjustments that Acting
Chief
Inspector Hooper believed would have to be made was that the Claimant would become a restricted officer and thus a liability to the Force, as indeed she suggests in paragraph 20 of her statement where she says 'I do not consider it appropriate to step outside the medical standards and recruit a non-disabled officer who would, by
virtue
of the medical standards, be a restricted officer'. This clearly cannot be the case because if that were correct then Wiltshire would be in breach of the Home Office Guidance by employing her as a front-line officer without any restrictions.
38. ActingChief
Inspector Hooper's memo as to her reasons for rejecting the Claimant takes no account of this guidance and the only justification for not employing the Claimant, we repeat, is that she did not meet the required medical standards for hearing. Again, the only conclusion the Tribunal can draw from that is that Acting
Chief
Inspector Hooper perceived the Claimant had a disability which could not be accommodated by reasonable adjustments or perceived she would require adjustments in the future notwithstanding her position in the Wiltshire Constabulary."
very
clear and needs some unpacking.
THE APPEAL
GROUNDS 1 AND 2: PERCEPTION OF DISABILITY
"The answer will not depend on whether the putative discriminator A perceives B to be disabled as a matter of law; in other words, it will not depend on A's knowledge of disability law. It will depend on whether A perceived B to have an impairment with the features which are set out in the legislation."
That distinction between knowing the facts that constitute the disability and knowing that they amount to a disability within the meaning of the Act had already been drawn, albeit in a different context, by Lady Hale in her speech in Malcolm: see para. 86 (p. 1430 F-G). Again, although it was common ground that this was the right approach, I should say that I agree that it is correct. In a case of perception discrimination what is perceived must, as a simple matter of logic, have all the features of the protected characteristic as defined in the statute.[4]
various
aspects to that submission, and it will be necessary to consider separately the ET's alternative findings of perceived "potential" and "actual" disability; but I start with an issue which is common to both.
"52. It is established law that in the field of employment and occupation the definition of 'disability' in the 2010 Act must be applied in a way which gives effect to EU law. The definition of disability has been laid down by the ECJ most recently in Ringv
Dansk Almennyttigt Boligselskab [2013] IRLR 571[5]:
'37. The UN Convention, which was ratified by the European Union by decision of 26 November 2009, in other words after the judgment in Chacón Navas had been delivered, acknowledges in recital (e) that "disability is an evolving concept and that disability results from the interaction between persons with impairments and attitudinal and environmental barriers that hinders their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others". Thus the second paragraph of Article 1 of the convention states that persons with disabilities include "those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction withvarious
barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others".
38. Having regard to the considerations set out in paragraphs 28-32 above, the concept of "disability" must be understood as referring to a limitation which results in particular from physical, mental or psychological impairments which in interaction withvarious
barriers may hinder the full and effective participation of the person concerned in professional life on an equal basis with other workers.'
53. This impacts in particular on the definition of 'day-to-day activities'; the phrase must be given an interpretation which encompasses the activities which are relevant to participation in professional life. Thus, in the leading UK case, Patersonv
Commissioner of Police of the Metropolis [2007] IRLR 763 it was held that the taking of a professional examination for promotion to a high grade was a day-to-day activity."
v
Eurest Colectividades SA (C-13/05), [2007] ICR 1, and Paterson, for which the full citation is [2007] UKEAT 0635/06, [2007] ICR 1522. In Paterson the ET had held that taking part in an exam as part of a promotion process was not a normal day-to-day activity. The EAT (Elias J presiding) was referred to Chacón Navas as establishing that the concept of disability comprises situations "in which participation in professional life is hindered over a long period of time" (see para. 62). It rejected the ET's conclusion. Elias J said, at paras. 66-67:
"66. … We would have reached that conclusion simply taking domestic law on its own without any reference to the decision in Chacón. In ourview
carrying out an assessment or examination is properly to be described as a normal day to day activity. Moreover, as we have said, in our
view
the act of reading and comprehension is itself a normal day-to-day activity. In any event, whatever ambiguity there may be about that, in our
view
the decision of the ECJ in Chacón Navas is decisive of this case.
67. We must read [the statutory definition of disability] in a way which gives effect to EU law. We think it can be readily done, simply by giving a meaning to day-to-day activities which encompasses the activities which are relevant to participation in professional life. Appropriate measures must be taken to enable a worker to advance in his or her employment. Since the effect of the disability may adversely affect promotion prospects, then it must be said to hinder participation in professional life."
Chief
Constable
of Lothian and Borders Police
v
Cumming [2009] UKEAT 0077/08, [2010] IRLR 109. The claimant was a civilian police employee who was also a special
constable.
She suffered from amblyopia in one eye, resulting in mildly impaired
vision,
but when she had been appointed a special
constable
she was given a certificate of fitness and found to have excellent binocular
vision.
She applied to become a police officer and was rejected because her eyesight did not meet the prescribed standard. She brought proceedings for disability discrimination, but she relied on actual rather than perceived disability. The ET found that her impairment had a substantial adverse effect, on two alternative bases – (a) that her rejection as a police
constable
recruitment itself constituted a substantial adverse effect, relying on what was said to be the reasoning in Chacón Navas and Paterson; and (b) that in any event the effect of the amblyopia on her
vision
was substantial. The EAT allowed the
Chief
Constable's
appeal. Mr Strelitz relied on Lady Smith's reasoning on the first alternative. In summary, she held that it was not legitimate to shortcut the enquiry into the actual physical/mental adverse effects of an impairment and rely simply on the fact that it had led to a refusal of employment. As she put it at para. 36 of her judgment (p. 113):
"The status of disability for the purposes of the [1995 Act] cannot be dependent on the decision of the employer as to how to react to the employee's impairment yet that is, in essence, the argument that the claimant seeks to advance."
She said that the claimant's approach "proceeds on a misunderstanding of Paterson and Chacón Navas".
"[the phrase 'normal day-to-day activities'] should be given an interpretation which encompasses the activities which are relevant to participation in professional life".
That seems to me wholly unexceptionable, save that "working life" might be more appropriate than "professional life" (which I think he used only because it appeared in Paterson). However, it does not directly address Mr Strelitz's submission before us (which, as I say, may not have been so explicitly advanced below) that the particular activities required of a front-line police officer are not "normal" and are more akin to the highly specialised capabilities required of the watchmaker or concert pianist mentioned in the Guidance.
view
follows that any such effect would be substantial and adverse, at least if (as ACI Hooper seems to have assumed) it would lead to her being taken off front-line duties.
view
the focus of ACI Hooper's evidence was squarely on what might happen in the future. (I suspect that it is for that reason that the Tribunal, as already noted, appears to have treated "potential" disability as its primary finding.)
virtue
of paragraph 8 (2), was to be treated as (already) having an impairment with a substantial adverse effect on her ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities. He acknowledged that the ET did not justify its decision by reference to paragraph 8: indeed it did not refer to it at all. But what mattered was the effect in law of its factual findings.
GROUND 3: IS THIS A SECTION 13 CASE ?
"The 'because of' error"
v
University of Edinburgh [2018] UKEAT 0014/17 Simler P, referring to the decision of this Court in City of York Council
v
Grosset [2018] EWCA Civ 1105, [2018] ICR 1492, summarised the exercise which it requires as follows:
"… [T]his provision requires an investigation of two distinct causative issues: (i) did A treat B unfavourably because of an (identified) something? and (ii) did that something arise in consequence of B's disability? The first issue involves an examination of the putative discriminator's state of mind to determine what consciously or unconsciously was the reason for any unfavourable treatment found. If the 'something' was a more than trivial part of the reason for unfavourable treatment then stage (i) is satisfied. The second issue is a question of objective fact for an employment tribunal to decide in light of the evidence."
"The reason why [the Claimant's] application to transfer was not accepted was that she did not meet the prescribed standards. This is not the same as saying that her transfer was not accepted because she was disabled or perceived to be disabled. If she had been disabled the refusal of the application would no doubt be because of something arising from her disability: section 15 would be applicable. But treatment under section 15 can be justified."
The distinction was crucial because the Claimant had expressly abandoned any claim under section 15 and nailed her colours to the mast of section 13: see para. 26 above.
"43. … [H]e submitted that the ET committed no error of law in concluding that the refusal of the application was because of the perceived disability. The decision was made because, as the ET found, ACI Hooper believed she would become a liability to the force, and held this belief because of false and prejudicial assumptions about her ability without proper individual assessment of the candidate as recommended in the Guidelines. If she had actually been a disabled person, in the circumstances of this case, the ET might properly have found direct disability discrimination: he relied particularly on Aylottv
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council [2010] EWCA Civ 910 [[2010] ICR 1278].
44. Mr Feeny did not accept that the ET's decision in this case would render it difficult or impossible for organisations to apply a required standard. If the person concerned in fact lacked an ability which was a requirement of the job, and if this was the reason for the treatment, then section 13 would not be engaged; section 15 would be applicable and the organisation would be entitled to show that the unfavourable treatment in question was a proportionate means of pursuing a legitimate aim."
view
of mental illness" and dismissed him. This Court upheld its finding of direct discrimination. Mummery LJ said, at para. 48 (p. 1291 E-F):
"Direct discrimination can occur, for example, when assumptions are made that a claimant, as an individual, has characteristics associated with a group to which the claimant belongs, irrespective of whether the claimant or most members of the group have those characteristics."
At para. 50 (p. 1292 A-B) he said:
"The council's decision to dismiss the claimant was based in part at least on assumptions that it made about his particular mental illness rather than on the basis of up-to-date medical evidence about the effect of his illness on his ability to continue in the employment of the council."
Aylott was concerned with the 1995 Act, but the definition of direct discrimination (at section 3A (5)) is substantially identical.
"62. Section 23(2)(a) makes special provision for the comparison which is to be made in a direct discrimination case relating to disability. The circumstances which are to be taken into account include a person's abilities. A genuine difference in abilities may be a material difference. An example is given in the Employment Code (2011) published by the Equal Opportunities Commission:
'A disabled man with arthritis who can type at 30 words per minute applies for an administrative job which includes typing, but is rejected on the grounds that his typing is too slow. The correct comparator in a claim for direct discrimination would be a person without arthritis who has the same typing speed with the same accuracy rate. …'
63. If the disabled man really lacks the ability in question and is really rejected for that reason, the employer's action will not be direct discrimination. The man would still be able to bring a claim - for example, under section 15, which applies where there is 'unfavourable treatment'; here the employer may defend the claim on the basis that the application of the typing speed was a proportionate means of achieving a legitimate aim.
64. However, if the disabled man really has the required ability, and is nevertheless rejected because he has a disability, section 23(2)(a) will not assist the employer. Suppose for example a woman who is blind, and is rejected because the employer wrongly believes that because of her blindness she will not be able to type at a required speed. Section 23(2)(a) requires her actual abilities to be taken into account; it does not provide any warrant for the employer's flawed belief in her lack of ability to be taken into account as a material difference. A stereotypical and incorrect assumption that a claimant has characteristics associated with a disability may found a claim for direct discrimination: see Aylott at paragraph 46.
65. I confess that for a while I was troubled by the argument of Mr Strelitz that if direct discrimination were in play in a case of perceived direct discrimination it would be difficult or impossible for an employer to apply a performance standard, because it could not be justified. On reflection, however, there is no force in this point. The 2010 Act contains proper provision for removing from the ambit of direct discrimination those cases which are really concerned with the application of a performance standard to a disabled person who lacks a relevant ability. But that provision does not protect an employer who wrongly perceives a person to lack an ability which that person actually has.
66. In this case the hypothetical comparator would be a person who was not perceived to be disabled - that is, whose condition was not perceived as likely to deteriorate so that they would require restricted duties - and who had the abilities which the Claimant had. The ET was fully entitled to conclude that such a person would not have been treated as the Claimant was treated. The Claimant was able to perform the active policing role; she was performing it in Wiltshire; she had been accepted at the interview stage; her rejection followed when ACI Hooper ignored advice to rely on a practical assessment of the Claimant because, as the ET put it, she believed the Claimant would become a liability to the force. The ET did not err in law in concluding that she had been subjected to direct discrimination."
There was some discussion before us about what Judge Richardson was referring to when he says at para. 65 that the 2010 Act provides for cases where an employer applies a performance standard to be excluded from the ambit of direct discrimination. But I think it is clear that he was referring back to his discussion of section 23 (1) (a), which does indeed confirm that an employer is not liable under section 13 if he treats an employee, or potential employee, less favourably because of the things that they are unable, or less able, to do: he may still, as Judge Richardson says, be liable, but only under section 15, which allows him the opportunity to justify the treatment in question.
Norfolk
(see para. 28). That being so, he submitted that ACI Hooper had acted irrationally, and that it was accordingly a natural inference that she was motivated, at least in part and perhaps only subconsciously, by a stereotypical assumption that officers with hearing loss could not be up to the job: otherwise why not let the Claimant do the at-work test and see ? He reminded us that under section 136 of the 2010 Act if there were facts from which a finding of discriminatory motivation could be made the burden was on the respondent to disprove them. The Tribunal had plainly rejected ACI Hooper's explanation of her motivation.
view
the case falls within section 13 (1) because on the particular facts of the case as found ACI Hooper was influenced in her decision by a stereotypical assumption about the effects of what she perceived to be the Claimant's (actual or future) hearing loss. I would emphasise that it does not follow that a claim of direct discrimination can be brought in the generality of cases where an employee suffers a detriment because they are (or are perceived to be) unable to do the work required by the employer, or do it to a sufficient standard, as a result of disability: on the contrary, such cases will typically have to be brought under section 15 (if available)[8], and the employer will have the opportunity to seek to justify the treatment complained of.
"The comparator error"
very
well established that the comparison exercise under section 13 (1) (the so-called "less favourable treatment" question) does essentially the same job as asking whether the treatment complained of was "because of" the protected characteristic (the so-called "reason why" question), and that if the latter question is answered the answer to the former will normally follow. That point was first and most authoritatively made by the House of Lords in Shamoon
v
Chief
Constable
of the Royal Ulster Constabulary [2003] UKHL 11, [2003] ICR 337, (see in particular per Lord Nicholls at paras. 11-12 (p. 342 B-D)); and in fact Mr Feeny told us that in his submissions to the ET he reminded it of Shamoon. Provided that the ET made no error of law in its decision on the reason why question, as I have held above, there can be no error of law in it not having explicitly addressed the less favourable treatment question. As I understood it, in answer to a question from Bean LJ Mr Strelitz in fact accepted that this was the case.
CONCLUSION
Lord Justice Davis:
Norfolk
were somehow different from those in Wiltshire was half-baked and properly rejected by the Employment Tribunal; furthermore, and in particular, in reaching her decision of 1 April 2014 ACI Hooper had failed to take into account the highly material Home Office standard and accompanying circular and guidance.
Lord Justice Bean:
Note 1 This was not – or was certainly not clearly – the position under the 1995 Act, which proscribed discrimination “against a disabled person”. [Back] Note 2 With respect to the Tribunal, J Note 3 I strongly suspect that the phrase “a potential disability or a perceived disability” is a slip for “a potential disability or an actual disability”, reflecting the finding in the first sentence. But it is possible that what the Tribunal meant to express was that the “potential disability” was only perceived. But the point is not material to the reasoning. [Back] Note 4 We were referred to the fact that at the committee stage in the House of Commons an amendment was moved providing that A could be liable for perception disability even if he or she did not believe that the perceived impairment would have a substantial and long-term adverse effect. The Solicitor-General contended that the amendment was logically faulty, in that “it would be most inequitable for somebody who did not have a disability to have a lighter test to gain protection than somebody who did”. The member who had proposed the amendment acknowledged the force of that point and withdrew the amendment – see PBC Deb 16 June 2009, cols 195-7. That is consistent with the consensus before us. I am not in fact satisfied that this episode is admissible on Pepper Note 5 The full name and preferred citation of this case is HK Danmark Note 6 For myself, I am not sure why Parliament thought it necessary to specify that the condition must have some current “impact”, albeit not “substantial”. Take a case where – say as the result of routine testing – P has a definitive diagnosis of a progressive condition which is currently wholly asymptomatic but where symptoms having a minor impact on her abilities will develop in about a year, and disabling symptoms will appear after two years, and where her employer, who learns of the results and is frightened by the spectre of problems in future, dismisses her. It seems arbitrary and contrary to the policy of the Act that the employer should not be liable (at least so far as the 2010 Act is concerned) provided he acts in year 1 and will only be liable if he acts after the first symptoms have emerged in year 2; it would also raise what might be Note 7 I think this must be a slip for “by means of”. [Back] Note 8 If the disability is perceived rather than actual, section 15 may not be available, because, unlike section 13, it applies to discrimination “against a disabled person”. The natural meaning of that phrase is that the person should in fact be disabled, and it is not apt to cover the case where they are only perceived to be. As pointed out in n. 1 above, the definition of discrimination in the 1995 Act was formulated in the same way, and in J
v
DLA Piper is no longer directly relevant on this point, because – as pointed out in n. 1 above – the definition of discrimination in the 1995 Act was different. [Back]
v
Hart principles, even had the point been in dispute, but counsel’s diligence in unearthing it deserves recognition.
[Back]
v
Dansk almennyttigt Boligselskab (C-335/11), [2013] ICR 851; but Ring (the name of the actual claimant) is a convenient shorthand. [Back]
very
nice factual issues as to the precise point at which the “some impact” threshold was crossed. It is not necessary in this case to decide whether this is, nevertheless, what paragraph 8 (1) (b) means, and since we were not addressed on it I prefer not to express a definitive
view.
[Back]
v DLA Piper it was submitted that the statutory language should be given a strained construction in order to accord with what was said to be the effect of EU law; but the EAT concluded that that submission could not be accepted without a reference to the CJEU. Since the Claimant (now) relies exclusively on section 13, it has not been necessary for us to explore these issues. [Back]