![]() |
[Home] [Databases] [World Law] [Multidatabase Search] [Help] [Feedback] [DONATE] | |
England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions |
||
|
You are here: BAILII >> Databases >> England and Wales Court of Appeal (Civil Division) Decisions >> Equitas Insurance Ltd v Municipal Mutual Insurance Ltd [2019] EWCA Civ 718 (17 April 2019) URL: https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWCA/Civ/2019/718.html Cite as: [2019] 3 WLR 613, [2019] 2 All ER (Comm) 843, [2019] Lloyd's Rep IR 359, [2019] WLR(D) 245, [2020] QB 418, [2020] 1 All ER 16, [2019] EWCA Civ 718 |
||
[New search]
[Context
]
[View without highlighting]
[Printable PDF version]
[View ICLR summary: [2019] WLR(D) 245]
[Buy ICLR report: [2020] QB 418]
[Buy ICLR report: [2019] 3 WLR 613]
[Help]
ON APPEAL FROM AN ARBITRATION AWARD MADE BY
LORD JUSTICE FLAUX
SITTING AS A JUDGE-ARBITRATOR
PURSUANT TO SECTION 93 OF THE ARBITRATION ACT 1996
Strand, London, WC2A 2LL |
||
B e f o r e :
LORD JUSTICE LEGGATT
and
LORD JUSTICE MALES
____________________
EQUITAS INSURANCE LIMITED |
Appellant |
|
| - and - |
||
MUNICIPAL MUTUAL INSURANCE LIMITED |
Respondent |
____________________
Alistair Schaff QC and Tim Kenefick (instructed by Cooley (UK) LLP) for the Respondent
Hearing dates : 18th to 20th March 2019
____________________
Crown Copyright ©
Lord Justice Males :
Introduction
The facts
Mutual
Insurance Ltd ("MMI"), was established in 1903 as a
mutual
insurance company providing insurance, including EL insurance, to local authorities and other public bodies. During the period between 1 January 1950 and 31 December 1981 MMI provided EL policies to numerous insured entities. Although the wording varied in immaterial respects over the years, its policies provided cover in the event of the insured employer's liability for an employee sustaining bodily injury or disease arising out of or in the course of his employment. Each policy was an annual policy. It appears that the cover provided by MMI was without limit and without any deductible.
Equitas").
These were annual excess of loss policies, although the retention varied. In the early years the retention was only £1,000 each and every accident, but it increased over the years and eventually by 1981 the retention was £150,000. There were various layers of reinsurance with Lloyd's syndicates and in some cases with other reinsurers. One higher level reinsurer, for example, was Mercantile & General Reinsurance Company Ltd ("M & G"), but that company ceased to provide cover in 1969 and, in 2005, entered into a Solvent Scheme of Arrangement.
"the excess of loss of £1,000 up to but not exceeding £51,000 ultimate net loss on account of each and every accident but unlimited as to the number of accidents during the period of this Agreement which the Company may be called to pay under any one or more of their policies which may be involved in any one accident. Underwriters' liability hereon being limited to £50,000 ultimate net loss on account of each and every accident".
"The Liability of the Reinsurers hereon shall follow the liability of the Company to their respective Policyholders and the Reinsurers shall not be entitled to object to any of the terms and conditions either general or special of any of the original Policies."
" the amount being claimed against MMI by the insured and for which MMI was liable, was always treated by MMI for all purposes as a claim for one amount under all the responding MMI policies without any apportionment to individual policies or periods. There was no reason for such apportionment, on the basis that each policy was liable in full."
Equitas
under its reinsurances on the basis of a time on risk allocation, so that each loss was divided pro rata between the years of reinsurance in which each employee claimant was exposed to asbestos. That is the method for which
Equitas
contends.
The questions of law
Equitas
disputes this, contending that MMI is only entitled to claim against each applicable reinsurance contract a pro rata proportion of the loss attributable to the underlying claim, calculated on a time on risk basis. If MMI is correct, further issues arise as to the calculation of the rights of contribution and recoupment acquired by the reinsurer of the "spiked" year.
Equitas
now appeals. The questions arising on this appeal for which leave has been given are as follows:
(1) In the event of an insured employee being tortiously exposed to asbestos in multiple years of EL insurance, and the EL insurer settling the employer's claim without allocating the loss to any particular year of exposure, is the EL insurer obliged (in the absence of specific provision for this situation in the corresponding reinsurances) to present any outwards claim in respect of that loss on a pro rata, time on risk basis for the purpose of calculating reinsurance recoveries, either because:
a. the contribution to the settlement of each engaged policy must by necessary implication be treated as having been on that basis ("question 1"); or
b. the doctrine of good faith requires the claim to be presented on that basis ("question 2")?
(2) If the EL insurer is not so obliged, and may present a claim to a single year of his choice, how are the rights of recoupment and contribution acquired by the reinsurers of that year to be calculated ("question 3")?
The Fairchild jurisprudence
Fairchild
Barker
"40. So far I have been concerned to demonstrate that characterising the damage as the risk of contracting mesothelioma would be in accordance with the basis upon which liability is imposed and would not be inconsistent with the concept of damage in the law of torts. In the end, however, the important question is whether such a characterisation would be fair. The Fairchild exception was created because the alternative of leaving the claimant with no remedy was thought to be unfair. But does fairness require that he should recover in full from any defendant liable under the exception?
43. In my opinion, the attribution of liability according to the relative degree of contribution to the chance of the disease being contracted would smooth the roughness of the justice which a rule of joint and several liability creates. The defendant was a wrongdoer, it is true, and should not be allowed to escape liability altogether, but he should not be liable for more than the damage which he caused and, since this is a case in which science can deal only in probabilities, the law should accept that position and attribute liability according to probabilities. The justification for the joint and several liability rule is that if you caused harm, there is no reason why your liability should be reduced because someone else also caused the same harm. But when liability is exceptionally imposed because you may have caused harm, the same considerations do not apply and fairness suggests that if more than one person may have been responsible, liability should be divided according to the probability that one or other caused the harm."
The Compensation Act 2006
"In determining the extent of contributions of different responsible persons a court shall have regard to the relative lengths of the periods of exposure for which each was responsible; but this subsection shall not apply
a) if or to the extent responsible persons agree to apportion responsibility amongst themselves on some other basis, or
b) if or to the extent that the court thinks that another basis for determining contribution is more appropriate in the circumstances of the particular case."
"Trigger"
"If causation is given a weak or broad meaning as against the person tortiously responsible, the same weak or broad meaning should be treated as carrying through into a liability insurance covering an insured on a causation basis."
IEG
"160. The theory that an insurer is liable in respect of any year of insurance when the employee was exposed to the risk of contracting mesothelioma is a perfectly satisfactory answer to the question whether the insurer is liable at all, which was the only relevant question at issue in the 'Trigger' litigation. But it cannot be applied without modification when the question is how much of the loss is attributable to particular years. If, as 'Trigger' teaches, the insurer's liability is triggered in each policy year, the rational response of the law is not to assign the whole of that loss to a policy year of the insured's choice. That would be to assume that the whole loss was caused in that year, whereas the law proceeds from the premise that we cannot know that. The rational response is that the loss must be prorated between every policy year during which the insured employer exposed the victim to asbestos. In my opinion, once one rejects the conclusion that the insurer is not liable at all, proration on that basis is the only way of giving effect to the overriding requirement of each annual policy that the liability should be assigned to policy years. If exposure to the risk of contracting mesothelioma is equated with causation, the natural consequence is that the resultant liability falls to be apportioned to policy years according to the duration and intensity of the exposure. What is being prorated as between the insurer and the employer is the employer's liability, not the indivisible harm of the mesothelioma itself. The chances of contracting mesothelioma, as Lord Hoffmann observed in Barker [2006] 2 AC 572, para 35, are infinitely divisible, even if mesothelioma itself is not."
Equitas
did not suggest, either before the judge-arbitrator or on appeal before us, that Lord Mance's judgment should not be followed. On the contrary his submission was that it was an accurate statement of the law as it applies at the insurance level, but that a different solution to the problems thrown up by the Fairchild jurisprudence is needed at the reinsurance level.
"In short, insurance would have been and was placed on the basis that a particular liability for loss would fall into one, not a series of separate periods. If an insured wanted complete cover, it would have to maintain it for all such periods. The relevant period would also be ascertained by objective criteria, which meant that insureds could not select it at will or to obtain the advantage of the cover most favourable from their viewpoint. Thus: (i) Under a liability insurance where the trigger is causation in its traditional sense based on probability, no problem exists about allocating tortious liability to one and only one policy period. (ii) Under a claims made policy, claims must be notified and will attach at latest when they arise, while specific clauses dealing with the notification of circumstances likely to give rise to a claim may attach a claim to an earlier policy than that during which it actually arises. (iii) An insured may, for one reason or another, have double insurance. In that context, it may elect which to invoke, but well established principles exist for the two insurers to share liability equally up to the common limit. (iv) An insured may also agree to carry an excess or franchise, in which case it will have to bear that amount before looking to its insurer, and will as a self-insurer rank last in any recoveries made by way of subrogation from any third party: Lord Napier & Ettrick v Hunter [1993] AC 713."
"43. If matters stop there, and the insurer ends up carrying the whole liability, the anomalies are self-evident. (a) It is contrary to principle for insurance to operate on a basis which allows an insured to select the period and policy to which the loss attaches. This is elementary. If insureds could select against insurers in this way, the risks undertaken by insurers would be entirely unpredictable. (b) It is anomalous for a liability insurance underwritten for a premium covering losses arising from risks created during its particular period to cover losses about which all that can be said is that they arise from risks extending over a much longer period, in respect of which no premium has, or could have, been assessed or received by the insurer. (c) An insured is able to ignore long periods in respect of which he himself has chosen not to insure, or has not kept any record of any insurance which he may have taken out, or has chosen to entrust his insurance to an insurer who has become insolvent. (d) An insured has no incentive to take out or maintain continuous insurance cover. On the contrary, it is sufficient to take out one year's cover, or even to arrange to be held covered for only one day, during whatever happens subsequently to prove to have been the overall exposure period whether this is done at the very start of the overall exposure period, or later after many decades of exposure, perhaps due to a sudden appreciation of the virtues of insurance under the special rule."
"51. An insurer, whether for the whole or part of the period for which the insured employer has negligently exposed the victim to asbestos, is on the face of it liable for the victim's full loss."
"51. The court is faced with an unprecedented situation, arising from its own decisions affecting both tort and insurance law. A principled solution must be found, even if it involves striking new ground. The courts cannot simply step back from an issue which is of their own making, by which I do not mean to suggest that it was in any way wrong for the courts, from Fairchild onwards, to have been solicitous of the needs of both victims and insureds. But by introducing into tort and liability insurance law an entirely new form of causation in 'Trigger', the courts have made it incumbent upon themselves to reach a solution representing a fair balance of the interests of victims, insureds and insurers."
"52. In my view the law has existing rules which can be adapted to meet this unique situation. The concepts of co-insurance and self-insurance are both at hand. Co-insurance is relevant in so far as the insured has other insurance to which it could also have resorted on the basis that it had also exposed the victim during the period of that insurance. Self-insurance is relevant, because an insured who has not (i) taken out or (ii) kept records of or (iii) been able to recover under such other insurance must be regarded as being its own insurer in respect of the period in question for which it has no cover. A sensible overall result is only achieved if an insurer held liable under a policy like the Midland policy is able to have recourse for an appropriate proportion of its liability to any co-insurers and to the insured as a self insurer in respect of periods of exposure of the victim by the insured for which the insurer has not covered the insured."
"53. the court would be abrogating its role to achieve a just solution consistently with what any sensible commercial party would have contemplated if it does not adapt and develop conventional principles to meet an unconventional, indeed unique, challenge. To say (as Lord Sumption JSC does: para 185) that there has here been a 'contractual allocation of risks' which precludes the court taking steps to avoid evident absurdity which no contracting party can sensibly have contemplated or intended appears to me unrealistic. "
"63. In my view, the principles recognised and applied in Fairchild [2003] 1 AC 32 and 'Trigger' [2012] 1 WLR 867 do require a broadequitable
approach to be taken to contribution, to meet the unique anomalies to which they give rise. If a broad
equitable
approach is taken in the present unique circumstances, then it should no doubt also be possible in the present context to overcome the presumption with double insurance that loss should be shared equally. Contribution between insurers covering liability on the basis of exposure should take account of differing lengths of insured exposure. Conventional rules need to be adapted to meet unconventional problems arising from the principles recognised and applied in Fairchild and 'Trigger'."
"77. In the present case, an insured who insures for a limited period necessarily accepts that it is only liability incurred during that period for which he has cover. The unique feature of the present situation is that the whole substratum of the relevant insurance policies has changed fundamentally since they were underwritten, and the law has, for the first time ever, imposed liability on the basis of risk, rather than the probability, that negligence during the insurance period led or contributed to the illness complained of. The concomitant of insurance liability in this situation must be a recognition that the law can and should address the unjust and wholly anomalous burden which would otherwise fall on any particular insurer with whom insurance was only taken out for part of the total period of exposure by the insured, by recognising an obligation on the part of the insured to contribute pro tanto to such liability as a self-insurer."
"110. Finally, the practical solution which Lord Mance JSC offers appears to be consistent with the way in which the London insurance market has operated in handling mesothelioma claims. That may suggest that the solution will not give rise to major practical difficulties."
"78. I believe that this leads in practice, at least in the case of a solvent insured, to substantially the same result as that at which Lord Sumption JSC arrives, but by a different route, which in my opinion reflects the reasoning and result in 'Trigger' [2012] 1 WLR 867. The difference between the two routes may however be important in the context of an insured who is not solvent."
"106. it is consistent with the policy of the United Kingdom Parliament that the employee-victim should be able to obtain damages for his loss in a straightforward way."
The award
(1) Is MMI to be treated as having settled the inwards claims on the basis that each EL policy on risk was contributing a pro rata share of the loss being paid by MMI?
(2) If not, is the basis on which MMI is presenting its reinsurance claims contrary to the duty of utmost good faith or an implied contractual duty requiring MMI to present its reinsurance claims in good faith?
(3) If issues (1) and (2) are determined in favour of MMI, on the proper construction of the reinsurance contracts, is MMI contractually entitled to recover the full amount it has paid in respect of each inwards claim from any reinsurance contracts of its choice which provided cover for any part of the exposure period for which it was on risk, subject to the limits and retentions for those reinsurance contracts and subject to the paying reinsurers' rights of contribution and recoupment?
(4) If so, what rights of contribution and recoupment do the reinsurers which are called upon to pay the claim acquire against any other reinsurers who were also on risk for the claim, and against MMI in respect of any deemed "self-reinsurance", and how do those rights fall to be calculated? In particular, should they be calculated using:
a. the "from the ground up" pro rata method of apportionment, taking into account the first layer retention in every year of reinsurance exposure, asEquitas
contends; or
b. the "independent liability" method as MMI contends?
Equitas
relied where a wider concept of good faith had been adopted than applies in English law and regarded the English cases involving the exercise of a discretion or power (e.g. Socimer International Bank v Standard Bank London Ltd [2008] EWCA Civ 116, [2008] 1 Lloyd's Rep 558) as irrelevant in circumstances where MMI had an absolute contractual right to present the whole of its loss to any reinsurance policy of its choice, a distinction recognised by Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust v Compass Group UK & Ireland Ltd [2013] EWCA Civ 200, [2013] BLR 265.
equitable
recoupment and contribution to redress any anomalies.
Equitas
contended for a pro rata method of apportionment with two related aspects: (1) that MMI had to give credit in full for its retentions in each year of reinsurance even though the claim was "spiked" into one year and (2) that, by analogy with principles of subrogation, the higher layers of reinsurance in subsequent years should be made good first in any contribution and recoupment process (the so-called "top-down" approach).
Equitas
should have no right of recoupment as regards the retentions in years before or after the year to which the 100% claim was presented as it had never provided an indemnity for that part of the loss. It would be unfair if MMI had to give credit for retentions in each and every year. Rather, he said, the approach should be that which applied in cases of double insurance where only one retention would be borne by the insured.
The scope of review
equitable
contribution and recoupment, the judge-arbitrator's conclusions depended on his view of what was fair and
equitable
and that these were an exercise of arbitral judgment which we could not go behind.
Equitas's
submissions in outline
Equitas
began by emphasising the novelty of the Fairchild jurisprudence and the anomalies which it has created as a result of the courts having cast off into uncharted waters. In consequence it had already been necessary to devise novel solutions, for example the new rights of contribution and recoupment created by the majority in IEG, and the courts remained under a responsibility to face up to the consequences of Fairchild which they themselves had created, if necessary by further innovation. While IEG had provided a solution at the insurance level, in a way which was necessary to ensure full compensation to victims of mesothelioma, that objective had now been achieved for all practical purposes and the same policy considerations did not apply at the reinsurance level. At that level, the victim having received his compensation from his employer or its insurer, it was possible and desirable to revert to the principles of the common law whereby liability should be apportioned in accordance with Barker by reference to time on risk. Thus each reinsurance policy should bear its proportionate share of liability calculated from the ground up.
Deemed allocation/implied term
Duty of good faith
Contribution and recoupment
Equitas's
case is that they should be calculated in each year from the ground up, applying the Barker approach just as if a proportionate part of the claim had been presented under each reinsurance policy, in a manner explicitly intended to achieve the same ultimate outcome as would be achieved by the first or second route or as would have been achieved if the minority view in IEG had prevailed. In this regard Mr Edelman relied on Lord Mance's comment at [78] in IEG that the rights of contribution and recoupment favoured by the majority would lead "in practice, at least in the case of a solvent insured, to substantially the same result as that at which Lord Sumption JSC arrives, but by a different route".
Equitas
method, MMI would have to bear a retention in each policy year whereas, under the MMI method, there would only be a single retention. Second, under the
Equitas
method higher layers of reinsurance would not contribute until the lower layers had been exhausted whereas, under the MMI method, each layer would be liable to contribute to the equivalent layer in the spiked year. Third, under the MMI method, MMI would be treated as a self-insurer of the retentions and of any gaps in the cover and would have the same rights of contribution as a reinsurer of an equivalent layer would have had. That would not be so under the
Equitas
method. We were told that the treatment of retentions is likely to be the most significant issue in financial terms.
Equitas's
approach to contribution and recoupment was adopted, to achieve in principle the same financial outcome as either of the first two routes, Mr Edelman submitted that it would in practice lead to severe difficulties due to the complexities of the reinsurance programmes existing from year to year and the fact that the reinsurers in the spiked year who were left to claim contribution would have no knowledge of MMI's reinsurance arrangements in other years. For this reason, he submitted that, if legally possible, either of the first two routes was to be preferred as a solution to the anomalies thrown up by Fairchild at the reinsurance level. Indeed he used words like "chaos" and "mayhem" to describe the situation with which the market would be faced in circumstances where each year's reinsurance might have multiple excess layers, some of which would have multiple participants, in ways which would not correspond to the arrangements in other years.
MMI's submissions in outline
Equitas
that a process of construction could lead to a conclusion whereby the insurance and reinsurance contracts respond differently. For example,
Equitas
did not suggest that Lord Sumption's construction of the insurance contracts in IEG can be applied to the reinsurance contracts here. That being so, consistency and principle require that the same approach be adopted at the insurance and the reinsurance level, and any distinction would be artificial, unprincipled and liable to make the situation worse rather than better. That would be so in any event, but was reinforced by the follow settlements clause in the reinsurance policies which demonstrates that the insurance and reinsurance were intended to operate in the same way.
Deemed allocation/implied term
Duty of good faith
Equitas
contended, in which case the duty of good faith was not needed, or they would not, in which case its application was an unprincipled way of arriving at the minority approach in IEG which the majority had rejected. Contribution and recoupment were the principles which the majority in IEG had invoked, not a duty of good faith, and there was no basis for any different approach at the reinsurance level.
equitable
recoupment and contribution to redress any anomalies cannot conceivably be said to be in bad faith or Wednesbury unreasonable".
Contribution and recoupment
equitable
principles drawing on an analogy with principles of double insurance in order to enable a sharing of the burden between reinsurers of the same loss in different years. Following this logic through, the way that contribution should work was to enable the reinsurer who was liable for one layer in the spiked year to obtain contribution from reinsurers who would have been liable for the equivalent layer in other years. Thus, to take a simple example, if there were three years of exposure to asbestos and three years of reinsurance, each with a retention of £10,000, a primary layer of £40,000 XS £10,000, and a higher layer of £50,000 XS £50,000, the reinsurers' total outlay would be £90,000. It is therefore that £90,000 which needs to be distributed across other years. The primary layer reinsurer in the spiked year who had paid out £40,000 would recover one third of that amount (£13,333.33) from each of the primary layer reinsurers in the other two years, while the higher layer reinsurer who had paid out £50,000 would recover one third of that amount (£16,666) from each of the higher layer reinsurers in the other two years. That example is concerned only with contribution, but recoupment would arise if (for example) in one year MMI had chosen not to obtain reinsurance for one of the layers. In such a case MMI would be liable to contribute in the same way that a reinsurer of that layer would have done.
Overview
equitable
contribution and recoupment would lead inevitably to chaos in the market, but it would undoubtedly mean significantly greater complexity and expense. The judge-arbitrator referred to helpful examples produced by the parties to show how their respective methods of contribution would work in what he described as "factual situations of increasing complexity". These examples, which were also before us, were greatly simplified for illustrative purposes, but even so gave a flavour of some of the complexities which would arise. In addition there is the practical problem for any reinsurer seeking to exercise a right of contribution that only MMI has knowledge of the detail of its reinsurance arrangements in each of the relevant years.
Analysis
Deemed allocation/implied term
Duty of good faith
"Contractual terms in which one party to the contract is given the power to exercise a discretion, or to form an opinion as to relevant facts, are extremely common. It is not for the courts to rewrite the parties' bargain for them, still less to substitute themselves for the contractually agreed decision-maker. Nevertheless, the party who is charged with making decisions which affect the rights of both parties to the contract has a clear conflict of interest. That conflict is heightened when there is a significant imbalance of power between the contracting parties as there often will be in an employment contract. The courts have therefore sought to ensure that such contractual powers are not abused. They have done so by implying a term as to the manner in which such powers may be exercised, a term which may vary according to the terms of the contract and the context in which the decision-making power is given."
"It is plain from these authorities that a decision-maker's discretion will be limited, as a matter of necessary implication, by concepts of honesty, good faith, and genuineness, and the need for the absence of arbitrariness, capriciousness, perversity and irrationality. The concern is that the discretion should not be abused. Reasonableness and unreasonableness are also concepts deployed in this context, but only in a sense analogous to Wednesbury unreasonableness, not in the sense in which that expression is used when speaking of the duty to take reasonable care, or when otherwise deploying entirely objective criteria: as for instance when there might be an implication of a term requiring the fixing of a reasonable price, or a reasonable time. In the latter class of case, the concept of reasonableness is intended to be entirelymutual
and thus guided by objective criteria Laws LJ in the course of argument put the matter accurately, if I may respectfully agree, when he said that pursuant to the Wednesbury irrationality test, the decision remains that of the decision-maker, whereas on entirely objective criteria of reasonableness the decision-maker becomes the court itself."
"68. Contrary to Mr Edelman's submission, this conclusion does not involve an inadmissible extension of the duty of good faith in insurance law or of the consequences of breach of any such duty. The qualification that I have identified does not arise from any principles or considerations special to the law of insurance. It arises from the nature and purpose of the relevant contractual provisions."
"An important feature of the above line of authorities is that in each case the discretion did not involve a simple decision whether or not to exercise an absolute contractual right. The discretion involved making an assessment or choosing from a range of options, taking into account the interests of both parties. In any contract under which one party is committed to exercise such a discretion, there is an implied term. The precise formulation of that term has been variously expressed in the authorities. In essence, however, it is that the relevant party will not exercise its discretion in an arbitrary, capricious or irrational manner. Such a term is extremely difficult to exclude, although I would not say it is utterly impossible to do so. "
"91. The discretion which is entrusted to the Trust in relation to service failure points and deductions in the present case is very different from the discretion which existed in the authorities discussed above. The Trust is a public authority delivering a vital service to vulnerable members of the public. It rightly demands high standards from all those with whom it contracts. There may, of course, be circumstances in which the Trust decides to award less than the full amount of service failure points or to deduct less than it is entitled to deduct from a monthly payment. Nevertheless the Trust could not be criticised if it awards the full number of service failure points or if it makes the full amount of any deduction which it is entitled to make. The discretion conferred by clause 5.8 simply permits the Trust to decide whether or not to exercise an absolute contractual right.
92. There is no justification for implying into clause 5.8 a term that the Trust will not act in an arbitrary, irrational or capricious manner. If the Trust awards more than the correct number of service failure points or deducts more than the correct amount from any monthly payment, then there is a breach of the express provisions of clause 5.8. There is no need for any implied term to regulate the operation of clause 5.8."
Contribution and recoupment
equitable
approach to be taken to contribution, to meet the unique anomalies to which [Fairchild and 'Trigger'] give rise" (see in particular at [59] to [63]).
Mutual
Insurance Society v HSBC Insurance (UK) Ltd [2010] EWHC 773 (Comm), [2010] 1 CLC 557 at [15]). However, it was a doctrine whose broad principles could be adapted to meet the unconventional problems arising from Fairchild. Similarly with suretyship, the conventional rule was equality between sureties so that "it should not rest with the creditor by his selection of remedies open to him to determine where ultimately the burden was to fall", but this too could be adapted to give effect to an allocation of liability by reference to the insurer's contribution to the risk.
Equitas
method of contribution is to be preferred. It reflects three fundamental considerations which the MMI method avoids. First, the reality is that critical exposures to a group of victims will have occurred in a number of years, in each of which MMI agreed to bear a retention, so that it is unjust that under the MMI method only a single retention applies. Second, the basis on which higher layer reinsurers agreed to participate was that they would not be liable until the retention and any lower layers had been exhausted. No doubt their premium was calculated accordingly. The MMI method subverts that principle. Third, I see no reason why MMI should have rights of contribution in respect of years or layers where it chose not to insure. That was its choice.
equitable
principles which we must apply are sufficiently flexible in these circumstances to enable effect to be given to the
Equitas
method of calculation. I would hold accordingly.
equitable
rights of contribution are applied between reinsurers of different years, the principle is nevertheless one which needs to be borne in mind in determining how those rights should be applied in order to achieve a just outcome.
Equitas
method was anomalous and unfair because, as
Equitas
accepted, if there had been one continuous reinsurance contract covering a number of years, MMI would only have to give credit for one retention. However, with respect that is only part of the picture. If there had been one continuous reinsurance contract, it is highly probable that the reinsurers would have insisted either on a higher retention than applicable to a single policy year or a higher premium. No conclusion about any unfairness of the
Equitas
approach can be reached without taking this into account.
The duty of good faith revisited
Equitas
method of calculating the rights of contribution and recoupment is correct, there is no conflict between the application of those principles and the existence of a duty of good faith. There is therefore no obstacle, such as any such conflict might have created, to what I regard as the preferred solution which is that such a duty should be implied. There remains the alternative argument that the implication of such a duty is unnecessary if principles of contribution and recoupment are available to the reinsurers, but for the reasons already given I do not regard that objection as well founded.
Conclusion
Questions
(1) In the event of an insured employee being tortiously exposed to asbestos in multiple years of EL insurance, and the EL insurer settling the employer's claim without allocating the loss to any particular year of exposure, is the EL insurer obliged (in the absence of specific provision for this situation in the corresponding reinsurances) to present any outwards claim in respect of that loss on a pro rata, time on risk basis for the purpose of calculating reinsurance recoveries, either because:
a) the contribution to the settlement of each engaged policy must by necessary implication be treated as having been on that basis ("question 1"); or
b) the doctrine of good faith requires the claim to be presented on that basis ("question 2")?
(2) If the EL insurer is not so obliged, and may present a claim to a single year of his choice, how are the rights of recoupment and contribution acquired by the reinsurers of that year to be calculated ("question 3")?
Answers: (1) No; (2) Yes, unless there is some other rational basis for ascertaining the contribution to the risk in each triggered policy year; (3) Does not arise unless the answer to question 2 is held to be wrong, in which case theEquitas
method should be applied.
Lord Justice Leggatt :
IEG and the nature of insurance
"In short, insurance would have been and was placed on the basis that a particular liability or loss would fall into one, not a series of separate periods. If an insured wanted complete cover, it would have to maintain it for all such periods. The relevant period would also be ascertained by objective criteria, which meant that insureds could not select it at will or to obtain the advantage of the cover most favourable from their viewpoint."
"(a) It is contrary to principle for insurance to operate on a basis which allows an insured to select the period and policy to which a loss attaches. This is elementary. If insureds could select against insurers in this way, the risks undertaken by insurers would be entirely unpredictable. (b) It is anomalous for a liability insurance underwritten for a premium covering losses arising from risks created during its particular period to cover losses about which all that can be said is that they arise from risks extending over a much longer period, in respect of which no premium has, or could have, been assessed or received by the insurer."
Lord Sumption, who gave the main minority judgment, agreed at para 156 that these consequences "are not just remarkable in themselves, but are directly inconsistent with the language of the policies and the fundamental characteristics of insurance."
"A sensible overall result is only achieved if an insurer held liable under [an EL] policy is able to have recourse for an appropriate proportion of its liability to any co-insurers and to the insured as a self-insurer in respect of periods of exposure of the victim by the insured for which the insurer has not covered the insured."
equitable
approach" should be taken to contribution between insurers so as to allow an insurer who is liable as a result of exposure to asbestos during one period of insurance to recover contribution from insurers who are liable in respect of other periods during which exposure occurred which under the Fairchild rule is treated as having caused the same loss: para 63. He further held, at para 77, that:
"The concomitant of insurance liability in this situation must be a recognition that the law can and should redress the unjust and wholly anomalous burden which would otherwise fall on any particular insurer with whom insurance was only taken out for part of the total period of exposure by the insured, by recognising an obligation on the part of the insured to contribute pro tanto to such liability as a self-insurer."
Lord Mance believed that this approach would lead in practice, albeit by a different route, to substantially the same result as that at which Lord Sumption arrived, except where an insured is insolvent: para 78.
"Confining the insurer's liability to a time-related proportion of the employer's liability would not be in line with this policy of the legislature and would probably engender further legislation."
"the practical solution which Lord Mance proffers appears to be consistent with the way in which the London insurance market has operated in handling mesothelioma claims. That may suggest that the solution will not give rise to major practical difficulties."
"First, it is more in line with the parliamentary approach as demonstrated by section 3 of the 2006 Act, because, unlike Lord Sumption's solution, it ensures that every employee whose employer was insured for any period of his employment, can look to any such insurer who is still solvent for full compensation. Secondly, unlike Lord Sumption's solution, it has been supported by one of the parties to this appeal: despite being raised by the court at a reconvened hearing, Lord Sumption's solution has not been adopted by either party."
Lord Neuberger and Lord Reed suspected that these two points were connected, in that the insurance market might fear that, if Lord Sumption's solution were adopted, Parliament would intervene to reverse the court's decision, as had happened following Barker.
"this court is invoking a new and wide generalequitable
power, which is, to put it at its lowest, close to inconsistent with an express contractual term, in order to reconstitute a contractual relationship so as to achieve what it regards as a fair result in a purely commercial context."
equitable
right" of contribution between insurers may be regarded as an extension of existing principle, giving an insurer an
equitable
right to recoup part of the insured loss from its insured is not just close to inconsistent, but is clearly inconsistent, with the contract between the parties as it was interpreted by the majority in IEG. As Lord Sumption observed, at para 183:
"If the insured is contractually entitled to the whole amount, there cannot be a parallel right of recoupment in equity on the footing that it is inequitable for the insured to have more than part of it."
"The basis of the suggested right of recoupment is that it is unjust for the insurer to have to bear the whole loss. But I do not understand by what standard it is said to be unjust when the parties have agreed that it should be so."
equitable
principle or restitutionary claim to override a valid and binding contract should in my view be regarded as an absolutely last resort, if not a counsel of despair.
The reinsurance level
Equitas
which does not allow the reinsured to select the period and policy to which the whole of its loss attaches contrary to the basis on which the reinsurance was placed. The proffered solution also does not allow the reinsured to obtain under a contract to provide cover for one year an indemnity for the whole of a loss which arises from risks extending over a number of years a result which, as Lord Sumption put it, "entirely severs the functional connection between premium and risk": see IEG at para 155. The solution which avoids subverting the basis of the reinsurance contracts in these ways rests on the now well established and orthodox principles developed by the common law to control the exercise of contractual powers.
Implied constraints on the exercise of contractual powers
Equitable
Life Assurance Society v Hyman [2000] UKHL 39; [2002] 1 AC 408. In that case with profits policies of life insurance issued by a
mutual
society provided for the payment when the policies matured on the policyholder's retirement of a guaranteed rate annuity. The contractual relationship between the policyholder and the Society was also governed by the Society's articles of association under which the directors had the power to award a financial bonus when the policy matured. The relevant article of association (article 65) stated that the amount of this bonus was in the "absolute discretion" of the directors. The House of Lords held that it was necessary to imply a term into article 65 which precluded the directors from exercising their discretion in a way which depended on whether the policyholder would be receiving an annuity at a guaranteed rate. In approaching the question whether a term was to be implied, Lord Steyn (with whom the rest of the appellate committee agreed) identified the inquiry as:
"entirely constructional in nature: proceeding from the express terms of article 65, viewed against its objective setting, the question is whether the implication is strictly necessary."
Lord Steyn concluded that the implication of a term which precluded the directors from exercising their discretion so as to pay different (and lower) bonuses to policyholders entitled to guaranteed rate annuities was strictly necessary, as it was "essential to give effect to the reasonable expectations of the parties": [2002] 1 AC 408 at 459.
"As a general rule, the scope of a contractual discretion will depend on the nature of the discretion and the construction of the language conferring it. But it is well established that in the absence of very clear language to the contrary, a contractual discretion must be exercised in good faith and not arbitrarily or capriciously. This will normally mean that it must be exercised consistently with its contractual purpose." (citations omitted)
Construing the interconnection agreement in the context of the legal environment in which the parties were operating, Lord Sumption considered that "the intention of the parties must be to comply with the [regulatory] scheme as it stands from time to time so far as the contract permits" and that this intention necessarily informed the scope and operation of BT's power under the contract to set its own charges. It followed that BT was only entitled to vary its charges if the variation was consistent with the purposes set out in the Framework Directive.
Equitable
Life case the discretion of the directors to decide what final bonus should be paid was held to be limited, even though the discretion was expressed to be "absolute". An example of a case in which a contractual power was found, on analysis, to be unfettered is Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust v Compass Group UK and Ireland Ltd (t/a Medirest) [2013] EWCA Civ 200; [2013] BLR 265. In that case a contract for the provision by a private contractor of catering and cleaning services to a hospital trust contained very detailed rules for measuring the contractor's performance through a system of awarding "service failure points" for specified "performance failures" and deducting sums from the price paid to the contractor each month according to the number of service failure points incurred.
The term implied in this case
Equitas
to claim an indemnity for its "ultimate net loss" (so far as it falls within the policy limits) resulting from an accident that occurred during the policy year. Without doubt, the ordinary expectation is that the exercise of this power is completely unfettered such that MMI has an absolute right to claim and be indemnified for the whole of this sum. That expectation, however, rests on the assumption which, as discussed earlier, is a fundamental feature of an insurance contract that MMI has no choice about the policy period to which a loss attaches and that, if a loss falls within one period, it cannot also fall within another. The ordinary expectation also assumes that the amount of the loss falling within a particular policy year does not depend on what risks the reinsured has underwritten in any other policy year. Again, this simply reflects the basic nature of insurance and reinsurance.
"The task of the court is to decide, in the light of the agreement that the parties made, what they must have been taken to have intended in relation to the event which they did not contemplate. That is, of course, an artificial exercise, because it requires there to be attributed to the parties an intention which they did not have (as a matter of fact) because they did not appreciate the problem which needed to be addressed. But it is an exercise which the courts have been willing to undertake for as long as commercial contracts have come before them for construction."
See also Lloyds TSB Foundation for Scotland v Lloyds Banking Group plc [2013] UKSC 3; [2013] 1 WLR 366, para 1, where the legal and accounting context in which a contract had to be construed by the Supreme Court was "unthinkable" when the contract was entered into.
The grounds for distinguishing IEG
Equitas based on the doctrine of good faith, which in my opinion is well founded, was not proposed or considered in IEG. It therefore cannot be said that it is a solution which did not commend itself to the Supreme Court or which the Supreme Court has rejected.
Conclusion
Lord Justice Patten :